We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centerboard Inn was the highlight of our stay on Nantucket”
Review of Centerboard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerboard Inn
Ranked #3 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our (three sisters celebrating a birthday) fifth visit to Nantucket and the best part of our visit was staying at this inn. The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean with fresh smelling bedding and a bottle of wine awaiting us. Our room, The Houseboat Studio, had a separate entrance, off a patio area with table and chairs, that gave us the feeling of having our own little apartment. In the evening we enjoyed the gas fire pit that sits nestled in a cozy space beside the inn.

But the best part of staying at the Centerboard is Debbie Adams, the resident innkeeper. When we arrived early and couldn't get in our room yet, she treated us to freshly baked coconut cupcakes in the breakfast room. Nice!

Each breakfast was a true delight with such things as freshly baked cheddar scones, blueberry bread pudding, fresh fruits, granola, toast, etc. This is not your average B &B breakfast.

Debbie Adams is a truly lovely person who will go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Whatever the owners are paying her----it's not enough! She is a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Centerboard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 482 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Been guests here for some years. New Innkeeper Debbie Adams has mastered the craft, and cooks up a storm for breakfast and tea-time both. Our room arrangements were a bit complex (two different rooms, prices, etc.), but they got sorted out very nicely by Lyn and then Debbie. Improvement-minded owners are adding extras, such as complimentary beach towels handsomely logo-ed. I need/needed/wished to use the house computer a lot, and there were no impediments. Clientele has always seemed agreeable here, and on its best behavior. We have come to Nantucket more or less annually since the mid-sixites, and have some sense of the way things are when they are best. This inn has maintained our standard most creditably. Lyn Francis and now her successor Debbie deserve our thanks and applause, and certainly have it. Last write-up I said "What's not to like?" and very happily I/we can say it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcnenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an extremely well located inn. The innkeeper, Debbie, is simply amazing. Very attentive to guests needs. In particular, my son is gluten-free and Debbie baked amazing breakfast and afternoon snacks that were simply delicious. She goes the extra mile and helps make the experience. The inn was spotless and the rooms were also cleaned extremely well on a daily basis. The availability of beach towels and chairs was also great. Would go again. Only downside is that some the beds were very soft, although comfortable, so check out options before booking.

Room Tip: One of the large rooms is on the ground floor. Steep stairs to rooms on the second floor. Very la...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We loved the Centerboard. The location was really great and Debbie the Inn keeper is really wonderful! It was our Anniversary and I was surprising my husband with the trip and Debbie had a bottle of chardonnay waiting for us on arrival and that was a very nice touch! We stayed in the lower level room 7 which was quite private and the room's furnishings,(bed linens etc.) were very nice. The room conveniently had a coffee pot, fridge, microwave etc which we did not need but would be helpful for some staying longer. Debbie's breakfast was delicious, especially the summer berry with lemon zest muffins (out of this world!)
All in all we would stay here again and appreciated Debbie's help with the map, recommendations, bike rentals etc.
Nantucket is a beautiful island and we enjoyed every minute!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagleeyesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

First time returning to The Centerboard since it's renovation. We were tired of our B & B we've been staying at over the last 15 years due to the owners failure to maintain their properties and there is a serious lack of customer service.

Debbie couldn't have been more gracious from the greeting to our parting. The Inn is meticulous, and she is a master baker, forget the diet, you can't refuse her delicious breakfast and afternoon delights. It's a short walk to town, which helps to burn a few extra calories.

The beach chairs, towels and umbrella are available and our room had a small refrigerator which was great fro drinks or left overs. Recommended without reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I recently spent six nights at The Centerboard Inn after several previous visits to Nantucket in recent years. This turned out to be our most satisfying hotel/inn of them all, despite minor limitations of the room. We were in Room #2 upstairs and while the room was comfortable the bathroom was rather small . Also a tall flight of stairs had to be climbed , which may present problems for older guests hauling luggage upstairs. Nevertheless the location was quiet with minimal street noise in the evening. In short, although the quality is not 5 star luxury
the room should be comfortable enough for even discriminating travelers.
The major advantage of staying here is the absolutely first class hospitality of Debby, the new
manager. She was extremely friendly and helpful with any problems or requests.
No impersonal attitude here , and were always greeted with a smile.
The breakfasts were very creative and satisfying with scrumptious scones muffins etc. ,despite the regulated restrictions on the island for B&B breakfasts.
We enjoyed taking it outside on the porch or in the living room next to a breezy window.
The Sat. afternoon wine and cheeses was a nice touch.
We also appreciated the beach umbrella and chairs which were at our disposal.
The location was convenient to get to Jetties Beach or to access the bike path to Madaket beach.
We rate this highly due to the overall relaxing, friendly vibe we experienced.
Recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: The first floor suite is impressive in amenities and spaciousness although expensive.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall, the Centerboard Inn is a good pick for an in-town B&B. The room rates are relatively competitive, the rooms are comfortable, and it's in a great location if you want to be in or near town.

Rooms: We have stayed in two of their rooms. Both were comfortable, but the smaller rooms are pretty small (especially the bathroom). Ask for their larger rooms if they are available. The rooms were clean and functional. I would rate the rooms as "good". The beds were OK, but I did have a backache one morning; the beds are quite soft and my back does better on a firm bed, so it's not really the bed's fault per se.

If you are like us and plan to out and about all day, then you really only need a bed for when you come home exhausted at the end of the day. We don't spend much time in our room when on vacation to Nantucket; if you do, you are doing something wrong ;).

Breakfast: A continental breakfast is included in your rate. It's not much but it's very good and it's enough to get you started for the day - fruit, cereals, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, tea, and so on. It was all very tasty and expertly prepared/provided by the Innkeeper each day.

Location: You can easily walk into Nantucket town from here, so that is a big plus. If you have bikes, it's easy to ride to Madaket and other places within maybe 5-7 miles. For trips to Sconset, the bus or a taxi will make more sense. It's also right across the street from an excellent restaurant, American Seasons.

Pre-Trip Communication: This is the only place where we had a minor issue. When we booked in the early spring, the Innkeeper was Lyn. Lyn was great at communicating and replying to questions. Sometime before our summer arrival, a new Innkeeper arrived. While the new Innkeeper is a wonderful hostess, email communication was not evident. I would call for any requests. Once on property, the Innkeeper is an excellent hostess and a great source of information.

Give the Centerboard Inn a try. It's a good choice overall and I would heartily recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailaway094890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
453 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Address: 8 Chester St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $144 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, Nespresso coffee maker, air conditioning, USB charging stations, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels & bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless internet access is available throughout the inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing