We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Terrific”
Review of Centerboard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centerboard Inn
Ranked #3 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I could write paragraphs about how wonderful our stay was at the Centerboard Inn but the short version is as follows: our stay was excellent, Lyn is a top shelf innkeeper and we have nothing bad to say. We're making a point of coming back as soon as we have the time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 484 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Centerboard. I would highly recommend. I feel their website does not do the rooms justice. We stayed in one of the downstairs room that had a small kitchen attatched. The room was clean and modern. One of the things I loved about the Inn was they took care of everything. They have towels, beach chairs, sunblock. Lyn was so so nice and attentive. Always there when you need her, but not overly involved. The Centerboard is in a great location, in walking distance of downtown. I am looking forward to staying there again!!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolagranola2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We came to the Centerboard Inn for our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The attention to detail made us feel very at home. Lyn was always helpful with any request or recommendation we needed. The breakfast each morning had a nice variety and plenty of food. We enjoyed sitting out on the various patio/porch areas in the evening to enjoy a cocktail and chat with the other guests before walking downtown to dinner. We had a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend the Centerboard Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Nantucket for the past 30 years. The Centerboard Inn is by far, the best place to stay on the island. We stayed in the 1st floor suite, which has a lovely, spacious, living room, as well as a bedroom, and a huge bath area, complete with a walk in shower and a jacuzzi tub. The innkeeper of the Centerboard, Lyn,manages to magically appear whenever you have a question or a need for anything, yet she is never, at any time, intrusive. Last night, for example, it was raining in Nantucket, and she offered to drive us to a restaurant where we were planning on having dinner. She then instructed us to call her if it was raining when we came out of the restaurant! Lyn oversees the running of the Centerboard to the utmost perfection, and the fact that we had such a wonderful place to stay, made this our best Nantucket experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family (including 3 young kids) stayed at Centerboard Inn for 4 nights and had a terrific time. The location is ideal, a short walk to everything in town. The accommodations were great - clean, new, charming, comfortable and well maintained. Lyn, the innkeeper, was extraordinarily helpful, not only with our needs at the inn, but also in helping us plan our activities. In particular, she helped us find many excellent family-friendly restaurants, with high quality food for the adults and plenty of options for kids. She also prepared delicious breakfasts/coffee each morning, a great, easy way to start the day. We highly recommend this for a family trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We loved our stay at the Centerboard Inn. Lyn was so hospitable and welcoming and we enjoyed meeting the other guests as well. The recent renovations look fabulous! The rooms are very modern and bright. Centerboard has the comforts of staying in a nice hotel but with the warmth and personal attention you can only find in a B&B. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We are just completing a 3 night stay at the Centerboard Inn and it is fantastic. The innkeeper, Lynn, is the sweetest, most accommodating hostess that you could ask for. The entire inn has been recently remodeled and it is very fresh and beautiful - none of that old, dark decor that so many B&Bs have that make you feel like you are at some musky old home! The breakfast is great and the coffee, from the Bean coffee shop, is excellent!
The inn is a short walk from all the shops and restaurants and is very quiet. There is a small, lovely garden in front that has comfortable chairs and a gas fire pit where sat in the evenings after dinner, reading books and drinking wine. 
We have tried other inns on the island, but this will be our choice from now on.
Thanks Lynn!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerboard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerboard Inn

Address: 8 Chester St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $144 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a whaling captain's family manse, the 1886 Victorian structure, now a popular Nantucket MA bed and breakfast, was completely remodeled by new owners Paul and Lauri Benk in 2012. The interior has been painted and detailed; the floors refinished; furnishings, fixtures, carpeting and rugs have been replaced; and perhaps most importantly, all beds have been replaced and fitted to be luscious and inviting; featuring fine linens from Frette, Matouk and Serena & Lily. Sumptuous down duvets top all beds at this Nantucket luxury inn, along with fluffy fresh down pillows (of course down-alternatives are available if you have allergies). Each guest room at this lovely Nantucket bed and breakfast has an individual refrigerator, Nespresso coffee maker, air conditioning, USB charging stations, and a beautiful private bath featuring Frette towels & bathrobes and Malin-Goetz spa amenities. Wireless internet access is available throughout the inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Centerboard Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing