We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #12 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We just returned from the Carlisle House Inn and we had a lovely time. The location is ideal, it's a quiet street and close to town and Brant Point and the Children's Beach. We happen to like it when the inkeepers give you your privacy and they work quietly in the backround. Yet, if we were to need anything, Janice is right there. Had a lovely typical breakfast that you get at most B and B's and ice tea and cookies were put out in the afternoon. Also, the price was better than most and I really shopped around. We'd go back, but I saw the house listed in a realty magazine, so who knows what will become of it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 193 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Connecticut
14
Reviewed December 10, 2005

The Carlisle House Inn is the quintessential New England inn in all aspects: convenience, hospitality, and island charm. Our room in this quaint inn was spacious and cozy. The inn is situated close to town so we could walk everywhere with no worries. We were close to shops, museums, and many fine restaurants. But most important to mention is the friendliness and concern of the owner, Peter Conway, and his staff. He and his staff are top-notch, and here is why. First, we arrived early in the morning on the day before Thanksgiving, and Peter left the keys to our room for us so that we could have the room early. So, in effect, he gave us an extra day with the room. He did not have to do this. He could have simply asked us to leave our luggage and wait to check in at 2 PM. Second, when we ambled in after a late meal, Peter and his family and friends were sitting in the back room behind the desk. As we entered the inn, Peter came out from the room, introduced himself, chatted with us, asking us if we were comfortable and was there anything we needed. Then, without hesitation, he offered a glass of wine from his own reserve for us to take to our room. Third, and most important, I happened to herniate a disk on the day after Thanksgiving. Peter offered his services for anything that we might need. He gave me an icepack; helped us rent a car; made sure that we had all that we needed in our room (extra pillows, etc.). He was simply the most accomodating of hosts.
I cannot recommend the Carlisle House Inn enough. It is the essence of island life. It is old New England charm at its best. And Peter Conway and his staff are nonpareil.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2005

Recently had the misfortune of spending two nights at the Carlisle House Inn. Our room was on the third floor, and when we asked if there was anyone to help with the bags, were told that it was only women who worked there, and the innkeeper herself has a bad back, so no help available. Not even a sorry included. The room itself was shabby and badly in need of an update. The bed was uncomfortable and made trying to sleep and staying asleep difficult.
During the entire stay, we saw staff upon check in, and once at breakfast. Otherwise, there was no one in evidence at any time, day or night. The breakfast, unlike most B&B's, was continental. The porch area was tiny and cramped. Overall, very unpleasant and certainly not worth the price, which wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank minou90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cape Coral Fl.
14
Reviewed March 1, 2005

My stay at the Carlysle House last fall was as comfortable as staying with a close friend. The staff, accomatations and attention to details were the best. I look forward to my upcoming stay this summer. Please don't change a thing.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stuart, Fl
16
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Our third time to stay at the Carlisle House and it was great as usual. Janice and crew could not be more friendly and accomodating. We tried room #20 this time. It is on the second floor with large four poster bed and fireplace. Great room that makes you feel like you have stepped back in time but with the modern goodies like triple sheets, comfy bed linens tv and a/c. The breakfast porch looks out over the garden where you can eat outside in the warmer months. Best in town location for us, close to beaches and ferry.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We stayed at the Carlisle House this past weekend - definitely our first and last stay. The staff was extremely rude (and even tried to charge us for an extra night), the room we stayed in was not the one we had reserved on the phone (nor is it listed on their website), and the place was pretty run down (e.g. you cannot use a hair dryer and have the air conditioner on at the same time). There was nothing positive about this b&b, except perhaps the location - but there are many other wonderful places to stay in the area.

10  Thank manola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
Thank maelise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#16 of 38 in Nantucket
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 38 in Nantucket
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $122 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlisle House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Carlisle House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing