We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem near town center.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantucket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Carlisle House Inn
Ranked #10 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little gem near town center.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I reserved the Carlisle House Inn for my mother and aunt during our weekend stay in Nantucket (Madaket Suite). It's a beautiful inn that's impeccably clean and comfortable. The innkeeper was so warm and welcoming. Both my mother and aunt were beyond happy with their stay. The room they stayed had a little sitting room off to the side with a television, which meant one could take a nap while the other sat reading or watching TV. A great choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
88
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Carlisle House is a very comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay when you are in Nantucket. Our favorite room is the Tom Nevers on the third floor - and don't forget to try one of Heather's (innkeeper) scones at breakfast!

Room Tip: I like top floors so that no one is above me and down the hall so people don't walk by the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boxborough, ma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location, charming room with first class hospitality. Really comfortable common areas as well. Delicious home made breads for breakfast. Innkeeper is readily available with helpful suggestions and information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butch5295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great choice of accommodations. Our visit was in the off season and we enjoyed the whole long weekend. We stayed in the third floor Tuckernuck Room--about the inn's cheapest room. The room was sunny, comfortable and clean with a sweet beachy decor. Plenty of towels and blankets. The room was small--but not too small--with a perk of a private bath that was roomy large (7'x10'). As other reviewers have mentioned, the complimentary breakfast was excellent. The inn is a 5-10 minute walk to shops and restaurants, the ferry, and the Brant Point beach and lighthouse. Walking to other beaches and just around the island was convenient and fun. If you have bicycles, bring them! The Inn has an outdoor bike rack for convenience. Heather, the innkeeper/owner is knowledgeable about her town and quite friendly to talk with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boats_and_castles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Perfect location. Convenient to stores, restaurants, ferry. Clean, comfortable rooms with cozy New England feel. Just right blend of privacy and availability of innkeeper. Delicious, reasonably priced breakfast of home baked breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, tea, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just got back from a "girls weekend" in Nantucket and were fortunate enough to stay at the Carlisle House. Not only was the location, just perfect (being so close to town and the Cliff Road area/Brant Point area) but the accommodations were excellent as was the continental breakfast each morning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Carlisle House Inn was our home for a 3 day discovery tour of Nantucket. We very much appreciated Heather’s warm welcome, the excellent breakfast with home baked goodies as well as the parlour with nice music, a fireplace and coffee/tea . The Carlisle Inn is conveniently located, just a 10 minute walk from the ferry dock and the center of Nantucket. We stayed in the Cisco room that was nicely decorated and had a working fireplace, very much appreciated when it’s freezing outside and the wind blows at 20 mph. Consider however that in a 1765 built wooden house you can hear the guests walking on the floor above and a neighbour coughing … but I guess that’s the case in all constructions of this type. We can warmly recommend the Carlisle House Inn.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, choose the top floor ... if you can carry your luggage over two fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlisle House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlisle House Inn

Property: The Carlisle House Inn
Address: 26 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3548
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic charm and convenience are the hallmarks of this year-round downtown inn, formerly a whaling captain's home, situated just five minutes' walk from the ferries, shops, restaurants and beaches. Enjoy a warm and welcoming atmosphere and a variety of rooms to suit any traveler, from singles and double with shared bath to spacious queens, kings and suites with private baths. Free Wifi, A/C, TVs in every room, including some large flat-screen HDTVs. Four guest rooms have working fireplaces. Included in your rate is a delicious continental breakfast featuring home-baked breads and muffins, seasonal fruits, yogurts, cereals, coffee and tea. Common areas include a cozy parlor, guest office and lovely garden. We look forward to welcoming you at any time of year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carlisle House Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing