We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Bed, Bad Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Sea Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Sea Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Bed, Bad Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed at this B&B in early August for 3 nights. We stayed in the suite room in the main house and felt it was quite comfortable, having nice upscale amenities like flat screen tv, and ipod alarm clock. I loved the shower!

However if you are a breakfast person perhaps this isn't the best choice for you. We were disappointed to have the same meal three days in a row, (the main entree being either a waffle or english muffin). This coupled with the aloof service at breakfast time may convince us to look elsewhere when staying in Nantucket in the future.

Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    64
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
62
288
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

Very disappointing!

1) We expected to see the Innkeepers, but were greeted by an older lady who did not introduce herself, and was not at all friendly. She was the only person running the Inn during our stay, and she did not seem mentally and socially well-equipped for the job.

2) The "no smoking" room smelled like cigarettes.

3) The shampoo and lotion bottles in the bathroom were covered in some brown goo, and two of the lightbulbs in the room were out.

4) When we were asked what time we wanted breakfast, we assumed it meant that there would be some cooking involved. We were hoping to have something warm on such a chilly, windy day. When we saw the sad display of cereal and realized the substitute inkeeper lady would not give us second cups of coffee, we wished we'd just slept in and skipped breakfast.

5) If check-out is at 11am and your ferry doesn't leave until 4, they'll "be happy to allow you to store your luggage"--what that means is that you can leave your belongings unattended, unsupervised, and unlocked, in the Jacuzzi room. NOT what we expected.

6) The Ipod doc and flat-screen TV are nice, but what's more important to people who stay in B&B's is hospitality and friendliness!

The best thing I can say about The Seven Sea Street Inn is that Puddy the cat is very sweet.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CBandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp3672, Owner at Seven Sea Street Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
We're sorry we weren't able to greet these guests personally and if we had, we're sure this critical review would never have occurred. We were off Island this particular weekend and it seems our temporary manager (no longer with us) was having a bad day and did not perform with the level of hospitality and service we require and our guests deserve. Excellent personal service is the key to what we do and it's very regrettable if we or a staff member falls short.

We are a smoke free inn and are diligent about monitoring this policy and keeping our guests rooms fresh and clean, but it's possible the previous guests did smoke in the room and housekeeping was unable to deep clean before these guests arrived - again we're sorry.

If we had been aware of these circumstances we would have made every attempt to make amends for these folks. We hope you'll consider this negative review as truly the exception and not the rule, based on all our other reviews, which commend our hospitality, food and service as one of, if not the best on Nantucket. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

I stayed at Seven Sea Street Inn August of 2000 on my honeymoon. This was my first time on Nantucket and I loved it. The smell of the salty ocean, the cobblestone streets, and the charm of the island. Seven Sea Street Inn is in a great location and is perfect for walking the downtown area and close to the Brant Point lighthouse. Seven Sea Street was a charming place to stay- I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2000
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MonicaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2005

We stayed at the Seven Sea Street Inn in Nantucket. I would highly recommend the 1 BR suite (room #9). We got a great deal on it for a night. The other rooms are fine, but very small......

Both rooms had great shower heads, and all rooms include bathrobes and flat screen HDTVs, local phone service, clock radios, wind and noise machines, and towels and linens. Most beds are 4 poster - canopied.

There is a high speed internet computer (an Imac for guests' use) and the Inn has a separate jacuzzi room which you can book. there are also two sitting rooms including a library.

Their breakfast was very very good. Fruit, yogurt, granola, cereal and toast. There was also a baked good, either muffins or cakes. (A little carb-y - some cottage cheese or hard boiled eggs would have been nice). It is close walking distance from the Steamship Authority Fast Ferry and downtown. While not cheap, it is good value and the innkeepers, Matthew Parker and his wife, are very nice folks.

Helpful?
6 Thank windyrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2004

We were somewhat disappointed with our stay here. We expected old Nantucket charm. The building turned out to be quite modern, and the all-wood construction means the building is very noisy. Definitely try to get a room on the upper floors! The staff was friendly, however, and we enjoyed our visit to the hot tub (guests reserve a time so they get a little privacy). The location is excellent, within walking distance of the main sights of Nantucket town.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2004

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Seven Seas Inn over this Labor Day weekend. It's located on a quiet side street which is important to those who like their sleep! It's a very charming inn and we really enjoyed ourselves. Perfectly located in town and close to the beach, the harbor, the shops, the restaurants, bike rentals etc. Everything is in walking distance including the bus stops. The staff is very attentive and makes wonderful recommendations of where to go, what to do, and where to eat! They have a private jacuzzi that you can sign up to use at your leisure for your own time slot. Scrumptuous cookies in the cookie jar daily - soooo good!! A widow's walk on top of the inn with table and chairs and a beautiful view of the harbor. Wonderful place to have your morning coffee! They also have a garden/yard area with tables and chairs/lounge chairs. Perfect place to have breakfast. For our first time here in Nantucket we're so happy we stayed here!

Helpful?
4 Thank StylishMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2004

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend on Nantucket. We spent three nights at the Seven Sea Street selected based on the good reviews we read. The Inn was quite adequate, clean rooms and friendly hosts. The continental breakfast is average (cereal, yoghurt, coffee cake, cofee) with the exception of really good cranberry english muffins. The chocolate chip cookies, baked fresh daily, were tasty. But the Inn does not go "above and beyond" as the rooms were clean, nice and offered nothing special. The staff was friendly, but not overly so. Every thing seemed more like "self service" when it could have been "special attention provided." We will probably look for another Inn to try when we return to Nantucket; there are many others and for the price of Seven Sea Street we weren't "wowed."

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Sea Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Sea Street Inn

Property: Seven Sea Street Inn
Address: 7 Sea St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Sea Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Sea Street is a beautiful red oak post and beam Inn, designed with an authentic Nantucket ambiance in mind. We invite you to experience our charming Inn, where we pride ourselves on the attentive service and cozy accommodations that will make your stay with us a fond memory. Our location couldn't be better, nestled on a quiet side street and just a short walk from Main Street, Steamboat Wharf, Jetties Beach, and Brant Point Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Seven Sea Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Sea Street Hotel Nantucket
7 Sea Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing