We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rustic comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Sea Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven Sea Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rustic comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the inn for one night when in Nantucket for work. The Inn is on a side street that's not marked (hope you have a GPS!) and within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of downtown as well as a fairly easy walk to the beach. It is also a few short blocks from the ferry. It is longer from the airport than I would want to walk, but possible to do. With strong legs or a bicycle, there's no reason you'd need a car for your whole trip if on the island to relax. Bike rentals are nearby if needed, too. There are also cabs.

The Inn itself is a little rustic and very homey. The inn is filled with warm colored wood and rugs throughout. There are several public sitting areas with games, computer, etc provided for your use. There's also a widow's peak on the third floor, but be warned the ladder is hard to use while also pushing up the heavy door to get onto the roof! It does offer nice views of Nantucket to reward you for your efforts, though.

I stayed in a room on the first floor, and found the bed to be firm, but comfortable. I really appreciated the "Inn directory" that included most anything I needed to know about the inn as well as the hotel. The room was simple, but had thoughtful details, including a bright light at the bathroom mirror and ample towels. There was also a hair dryer, soap, and shampoo. The closest thing to a complaint I would have is that the water pressure wasn't wonderful, but I've stayed places with worse pressure, too.

Breakfast buffet style was included in the rate, and was served during a morning time frame that you select on arrival....between 8 and 9 or 9 and 10. The food was simple, but good--breakfast casserole, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit. Coffee and juice were provided, too.

7 Sea Street Inn would be a great couples getaway or single retreat, and if I'm ever able to return to Nantucket, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    62
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
60
282
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've stayed at Seven Sea Street before, but returning again gave me a new appreciation for a great inn that always feels comfortable and cozy, like a home away from home. What gave me a new appreciation? Staying at other B&B's, both on Nantucket and in other varied parts of the country. When I travel to places I've been before, I like to mix it up and try different restaurants, inns, etc. What's wrong with other inns at which I've stayed? Nothing especially (with one notable exception in Austin, Texas). I have no big criticisms of most of these places - but no real praises either. Which bring me back to Seven Sea Street. What can I say about this place - they consistently outperform. Nice facilities, warm innkeepers, helpful staff, a great location. The character of the place is Nantucket itself. You can read the other reviews and see I'm not alone here. It's what you imagine a Bed & Breakfast to be; what you expect a Bed & Breakfast to be. Variety may be the spice of life, but when it comes to travel lodging, I like to know what I'm getting. From now on, when I have occasion to travel to Nantucket - either alone on business or with my wife for a romantic getaway - my only choice will be Seven Sea Street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarmouthport, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a treat!! to get away to Nantucket and spend 2 days at the Inn with an islander friend of mine!! Everything about the Inn is sooo cozy and deee-lish-us!!! Met the owner Matt and our hostess Claudia who both were so personable and helpful to make our stay a 5 star stay!! Right in town--the best place to be!! We loved the spiral staircase leading to the Widow's walk for the panoramic view of town and the harbor!! I have even booked it for my son and his wife while they visit us here on the Cape from Kodiak AK in June!! So, check your calendar and make it a wonderful destination!! Sue from Yarmouthport--Cape Cod ;)

Room Tip: The main building has many beautiful rooms along with 2 "sitting" rooms to gather in for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My girlfriends from the Cape and I had a fantastic time staying at the inn which is walking distance to everything downtown. It felt like we were at home with all the cozy sitting rooms & breakfast room with the fireplaces going. We even had our morning coffee overlooking the harbor and town from the roof walk. Claudia, the innkeeper, puts on a wonderful breakfast of all kinds of foods...from just toast to delicious baked goods...plenty of fruit, yogurts & cereal. The rooms are very comfy and adorable. We enjoyed it so much that one of my girlfriends is booking one of the cute rooms for her son and his wife for a summer visit here from Alaska.
Patty from Nantucket

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Inn is very close to the ferry and downtown Nantucket.
We used bicycles throughout our stay - no cabs.
Excellent breakfast.
Staff was very accomodating through out our stay.
When we come back for another visit, we expect to stay at the Seven Seas.

Chris and Laurie from CT

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christofer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Nantucket and Seven Sea Street Inn was the perfect place to stay. It was very comfortable & clean, all the staff were friendly and courteous. The special goodies Claudia made for breakfast (and for snacks throughout the day) were yummy! And Matt was helpful in regards to anything we needed (transportation, restaurants, tips on what to see). The location puts the Inn within walking distance of all the downtown shops as well as the wharf.

Perhaps the best endorsement we can give is this - we are already planning a return to Nantucket (with our son and his wife as well as another trip with my father) and know where we'll be staying - the Seven Sea Street Inn. Hope you get to go and enjoy it too!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a gas fireplace - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kona-kahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Who knew Nantucket in the middle of winter could be so great! I was there on business and stayed at the Seven Sea Street Inn. Open year round it is extremely charming, comfortable, and the rooms are very cozy (I loved that I could control my own heat!). Most importantly, the innkeepers were wonderful and very enthusiastic. An added bonus - Lola restaurant is a 2 minute walk from the inn. Close to the water and the beach.

KM from Boston

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonJetsetter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#5 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Sea Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Sea Street Inn

Property: Seven Sea Street Inn
Address: 7 Sea St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Sea Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Sea Street is a beautiful red oak post and beam Inn, designed with an authentic Nantucket ambiance in mind. We invite you to experience our charming Inn, where we pride ourselves on the attentive service and cozy accommodations that will make your stay with us a fond memory. Our location couldn't be better, nestled on a quiet side street and just a short walk from Main Street, Steamboat Wharf, Jetties Beach, and Brant Point Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Seven Sea Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing