We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Thumbs Up! Fantastic B&B and location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up! Fantastic B&B and location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed one night in room 8 with the detached bath down the hall but that worked just fine for us as no one else was able to use that bath except us. Place was very quiet even though they were fully booked and the room was as beautiful as it showed on their website. We booked last minute as they had a cancellation open up so we got a great rate. Location could not be beat! Steps to everything. And breakfast was a highlight - eggs benedict; and in the afternoon tea and cookies were available plus mini bottled waters for whenever you wanted which I thought was a nice touch. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't let room 8 with the detached bath deter you. It worked absolutely fine for us because you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonianinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
312
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Union Street Inn is the most convenient and well appointed of Nantucket's inns and hotels (including the more expensive ones like Wauwinet which need refurbishment IMO). The newly redone garden area adds to the overall charm and loveliness of the property. Breakfast is, of course, fantastic, as other reviews have mentioned. All the rooms have their own particular personalities. My favorites (besides the suite) are numbers 4 (despite being smaller it is really pretty with the paneling and fireplace), and number 6. But it is also fun staying in a different room each time! For overall atmosphere and the feeling of really being on Nantucket, this is the best choice. Ken (the owner) is also really friendly and has good advice. The walk that is recommended is a favorite. You just can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've just returned back from a stay on Nantucket with my fiancee at the wonderful Union St Inn.

The actual hotel is beautiful - the perfect balance between quaint b&b and luxury boutique hotel. The staff are outstanding, the whole set up is very personable - I couldn't recommend it more.

Also, as they themselves use it as a big draw it shouldn't go without mention....the breakfast is fantastic!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 3 & 5 - I would opt for the King (Room 3) as it was AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samlobban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Although we only stayed one night, I must say everything was perfect! Yes it is pricy but I did not feel ripped off. The room(#3) was exactly as presented on their website. The reception & service were excellent... Top shelf. And the breakfast was to die for!!!!!! Cookies and tea in the afternoon were excellent and the location can't be beat!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the first time I've ever stayed in a B&B and it was the best hotel experience I have EVER had!! This place is outstanding! We stayed in the smallest room but it was beautiful and plenty big enough for me and my (now) fiance. Everyone was extremely helpful, so welcoming, and the food was delicious! You really felt like you were staying at your best friends house. It was incredibly clean and with the re-done patio area, this place is a MUST if you are considering Nantucket! We're going back every year!!

Room Tip: Every single room is fantastic! They all have AC. We stayed in the smallest room with a bathroom dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllSki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been coming to Nantucket since 1984. We have stayed in many inns on the island and off, and Union Street is number one on our list. This is inn is very comfortable, extremely clean, and beautifully decorated. The staff is warm and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious, not just a muffin, fruit juice and coffee. I hate to give this inn a good review, because we would like to keep it a secret.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our first trip to Nantucket and we lucked upon the Union Street Inn via the internet. Everything was topnotch from our arrival to departure. The service was exceptional. They tended to our every need and made great recommendations to help us plan our days. I would have given an excellent on sleep except that it was unseasonably warm while we were there and I had a hard time cooling off one night. The bed was very comfortable however and the linens exquisite. The location is terrific and just a short walk from downtown. We stayed in room 7 which was beautiful. We can highly recommend the Union Street Inn and hope to come again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing