We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, gorgeous, comfortable!”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect, gorgeous, comfortable!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We loved our weekend at the Union Street Inn. The rooms are elegant yet cozy and comfortable. The location is just a few blocks from the ferry. Breakfast was delicious! Innkeepers Ryan and Jocelyn were helpful yet not intrusive. They were very attentive to every detail ..... beyond expectation.

I will most certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostboynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
329
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here, we turned up on the day having never been to Nantucket before and the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever had in a hotel/inn and the room was very comfortable. The staff were also very helpful in advising us were to eat in the evening and arranging taxis. The only slight draw back was we were in a room on the ground floor at the front by the street and there was a little nose from traffic in the early morning but the quality of the overall stay more than made up for that. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would avoid the room at the front by the street on the ground floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayeed here for a night In October as part of a wider trip around New England. Nantucket is fab if a little expensive. We Loved the decor of The Union Street Inn which was quite classic and nautical. Also very relaxed and great staff. About 5 min walk from the ferry. Lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this inn in late September, which is at the end of the season. The inn is charming and our room was very comfortable. We had 2 very comfortable chairs in front of a nice fireplace, and a lovely four poster bed. Everything was very clean, the linens were luxurious, and there was an air conditioner if we needed it.

The Inn was built in 1770, and has wide plank floors and a multitude of doors, many of which are not used. But the decorating kept the feel of an old building. We were right in front on the ground floor, so we did have traffic noise if we kept the windows open. But we did not experience noise from the front hallway, which was surprising given our location.

Breakfast was included in the room charge and was delicious. There were several choices and things could be modified to suit your needs. There were also snacks set out during the day, and coffee and tea at all times.

The Inn was also a short 2 blocks from the center of town, so it was very conveniently located.

Our only problem was with the water pressure in the shower. I like a strong shower, but this shower was painful to stand under. The management was very helpful and tried reducing the water flow somehow in the basement. It was not enough - perhaps the shower head needs to be replaced. They did try very hard to solve the problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The inn's location is perfect and decor lovely, but it was the warm and helpful staff that really made our recent stay exceptional. Amanda's recommendations for restaurants and bike shop/paths were spot on. Thanks for making our stay so grand!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This inn is heaven, impeccable standards and the location is just perfect and Nantucket just leaves you wanting more.It becomes harder to leave each year
We have stayed at this inn three times and it never fails to deliver. Fabulous gourmet breakfasts are served on the patio or in the dining area. Wonderful homemade goodies and hot drinks are served each afternoon.Try the white chocolate cookies. Ryan and the team make sure you get a good table in local restaurants and take advantage of their knowledge to get the best out of the area. The standard of cleanliness throughout the inn is exceptional. The decor is tasteful and in keeping with the style of an old captains house. Soft fluffy duvets and crisp white bedding ensure a luxurious night 's sleep. The domestic staff are friendly and do a superb job both in the kitchen and looking after the rooms and the guests.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenandJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Simply excellent! The house is really nice, the atmosphere is very warm, friendly and familiar, it seems to be at your home. The location is perfect, just few steps from the main street. All the staff is great and very kind and breakfast is the best breakfast we have ever had in US. The only negative notes are the really too noisy air conditioning in the bedroom and the bathroom too small. Anyway excellent! And don't forget to taste the homemade cakes and cookies they offer in the afternoon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
246 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing