We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Union Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Accommodations were superb. Reception was warm and sincere. They could not have been nicer. Room exceeded what one would expect with many nice touches. Ie. sitting room, two flat screen tv's, shower head to die for, remote controlled air cond., wet bar area, great breakfasts, and afternoon snacks. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 9 is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreePutt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Being a couple of France for their 35th anniversary, we spent a couple of days in Nantucket. One at the Union street Inn and one at the Sherburne inn(see our evaluation).
Extremely demanding on the quality of service, we have to recognize that Union street inn is a perfect ten! There is nothing that was missed out. From the moment you enter the inn and be taken care of by a very professional manager (Ryan) to the attention to details (oustanding historic room, yes we like uneven wooden floors!), exquisite taste overall, to the charming hospitality of Ken(the owner) and his passion about all the historic facts about Nantucket, everything was simply perfect not to mention the staff and the unique home made classy breakfast! We simply loved this place and should we have to come back, it will only be there!
Thank you so much for making our stay unforgetable!

Room Tip: Go nowhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chawket M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I go to Nantucket with friends every summer for a long weekend and have typically stayed at another Inn. I was so happy to stumble upon the Union Street Inn for this trip. The location can't be beat with steps to all the shops, restaurants and the beach buses. Breakfast was delicious as well as the afternoon homemade treats. The only down side was the size of the room. It was very small compared to the other Inn that I have stayed at in the past. I know that there are some other rooms at Union that are a bit larger but when you are traveling with a friend it's nice to have some space. Overall, it was a fantastic stay and I will be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you can afford it spring for one of the suites that is bigger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunscreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was lovely, the service was excellent, the breakfasts were delicious. The staff was friendly and gave us great ideas on what to do around town. Everything was relaxed and yet impeccable; ideal, unobtrusive service. We felt like guests in someone's really nice house on Nantucket. A great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nchernia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We've been to Nantucket many times and this was my second time here, but the first for my husband...we both loved our stay! It is on the pricier side, but is the best on Nantucket, especially if you're like my husband and like to have lots of good amenities like luxurious towels, robes, afternoon treats, etc. I can't say enough wonderful things about the Union Street Inn, our fabulous stay, and the gracious inn keepers, so I'll just try to point out the highlights.

The inn is light, bright, and beautiful...still historic, but lovingly restored....hard to believe you're in a building from the 1700s! The inn keepers couldn't be nicer and more accommodating! Ken is so helpful and wonderful to talk to...very down to earth. We got there early and our room wasn't ready so we were able to change and go to the beach. Our luggage was stored and then waiting for us in our room when we got back.

The rooms are gorgeous...be sure to check out the pics on their website. Beautifully decorated, comfortable, and have everything you need...bottled water, robes, a stocked beach bag for your use, TV channel information. Need something? They've probably already thought of it. The beds are to die for and are like sleeping on a cloud, complete with Frette linens and wonderful cozy duvets. Nice marble bathroom with lots of fluffy towels, a super roomy shower and upscale toiletries. It's hard to leave your room when it's so inviting and comfy. Definitely hard to get out of bed in the morning!

A full (unlike most inns on the island) breakfast is served in the cute breakfast room or on the lovely patio. I believe you can also get it brought up to your room. We enjoyed a beautiful morning on the patio and I'm one of those detail noticers...their cute nautical placemats, ticking striped cloth napkins, and basket covers to keep your plate fresh if you have to leave the table. They also have a full continental breakfast if you don't want one of the choices on the day's menu (I think there are 3). Cold waters are always available in the fridge and lots of treats are put out in the afternoon. Nice to come back from the beach and grab a big, homemade cookie, brownie, or piece of carrot cake and a glass of iced tea!

There are just too many great things to say about this place. If you're looking for a first rate experience, be sure to stay here! It's also one of the most convenient inns to shopping/dining, but without being in the midst of the bustle. It's on a pretty quiet side street. We look forward to our next stay here!

Room Tip: I don't know how you could go wrong here, but make sure to call them if you are looking for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice place! The place is so old the bed tilts on the uneven floor, but nothing a few books under the bedposts on one side can't fix. Accommodating staff. Good location - right in town.....................................

Room Tip: Very nice! Excellent staff - very friendly and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first time on Nantucket and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay.
The locaton right downtown gave us walking access to most shops and restaurants and the harbor. The rooms were perfectly appointed and the staff was wonderful Ken , Jocelyn and Ryan were very knowlegeable and attentive to our needs. Both of us had gluten and dairy allergies and Jocelyn made sure their wonderful hot breakfast met our needs. The garden area was a quiet place to dine, even if it was off the main road.
Only two suggestions; the air conditioning was a little loud so central air would be better but it cooled off the room on a very hot June weekend. A gluten and dairy free afternoon treat would be nice for those with allergies, or who need to watch what they eat , since we could not eat any of the wonderful carrot cake or cookies.

Room Tip: We stayed in Nubmer 12 towards the back. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDoc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Veranda House Hotel Collection
2.4 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Address: 7 Union St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nantucket
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price Range: $210 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Street Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best Nantucket Boutique Hotel". Named #1 Small Hotel in the U.S.! A small boutique inn with designer interior. Ideally located in the heart of the historic village, this beautifully renovated Nantucket inn features twelve guest rooms with a crisp, tailored "New England-by-way-of-France" flair. Guests enjoy boutique hotel style and services mixed with a home-cooked country breakfast on the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Union Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing