We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of 27 Fair Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
27 Fair Street Inn
Ranked #34 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Great Falls VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We go to dinner here in the main building (Sconset)every year. Again this year it was great. Love the guy on piano. We actually went twice this year and ate just light bar fare at the bar the second time....both great.

But we also went to dinner down at the beach......ugh.......stay away. Absurd prices. Terrible food. Undercooked hamburger, warm oysters had to send them all back. Awful. Felt bad for the waiter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homebody12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    6
    15
    27
See reviews for
22
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We are just back from a week's stay at the Summer House Fair Street. We booked last minute, so didn't have a lot of selection of hotels or rooms, but really enjoyed the inn. It's a great location within walking distance from town, but a few blocks away from the crowds. The rooms are simple and the bathroom in our room was way too small (but again, booked last minute so...). Very reasonable, especially for Nantucket. Enjoyed the breakfast of homemade muffins, fruits & yogurts. The best feature is the shuttle that takes you to the Summer House Siasconset, where you have access to the beach and pool, chairs, towels and umbrella. So great - it was so much more relaxing and civilized than the days we went to other beaches and had to sit in the sand. And the Summer House Beach Bistro is great for lunch and cocktails - very chic, bar is always crowded. Evette, the concierge, and her staff at the Summer House Fair Street are fantastic. Evette made a lot of reservations for us and made sure we had a fantastic stay. Can't say enough about her. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Make sure you select a room with a FULL bath. Ours had a shower, but was way too small. And 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stay on Fair St. for quiet location close to town, and use of 'Sconset pool and beach. Hop the jitney and arrive to private beach, chairs, and umbrellas. Room clean and inn quaint. Skip the Summer House for dinner- order a burger and cocktail at beach bar instead. If you want a full service luxury inn- look elsewhere- basic amenities. If you want decent value (for Nantucket) and use of beach- this is place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Loved the location, the pool, the beach, bike trails, and the overall property. It was a fantastic place to stay. we had a great time. Cotteges were small but clean. Service was OK but not fantastic. Nantucket is amazing, a great place for the family but pricey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjr123Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Summer house is in a great spot. Beach and pool right
Outside your door. A bit pricey however!
Stay at the cottages at the boat basin. Rent a car from
Tim at affordable rental in
Nantucket and you are more than all set.
12.00 dollars for a water is just an example
. Dinner fir 2 will run you over 200.00. Boat basin
Has a car to the beach and great in town walkable
Resteraunts.

Room Tip: I would not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at 27 Fair Street in Nantucket and was greeted and received wonderful service by Evette. She was very welcoming and took time with each guest to make sure to answer any questions or guide you to make your trip memorable. It is very close to town and we truly enjoyed the walking to the historic districts. On the other hand we visited the Summer House in Sconset and found them to be extremely uninviting. The hostess acted as if she would fall asleep right in front of us and fall over. While other visitors (according to the reviews received great service) when we arrived at the pool side one waitress ranted when we asked for the towels. A different host tried to assist and called over the supervisor/manager who unbelievably walked over and barked at us that the towels which were looking for had been thrown onto some other guests table, as if we were blind. I have traveled to many types of resorts and cities and have never been treated to poorly in any type of hotel or resort. While promised to have chairs, umbrellas and towels brought to the beach, our only option was to make multiple trips and bring them ourselves. I would highly recommend the Summer House on Fair Street, however I would discourage anyone from visiting the resort.
27 and 29 Fair Street is outstanding
Summer House at Sconset is deplorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at 27 Fair Street Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Christina,

Thanks for your kind note regarding your stay at our Fair Street Property. We hear lots of compliments about Evette's work with our guests, and it's great to learn your experience was wonderful.

The top priority of our staff across all of our properties is to provide fantastic service. It is important to us that your experience matched that found with Evette and many of the positive reviews written by other guests. Unfortunately, it seems like there was trouble getting towels and chairs setup at the pool to the level of satisfaction you expected. While our staff can get busy and overwhelmed during the Summer's busiest times, it is still important to us that they deliver on our clients expectations. We appreciate you raising this concern, and we will bring this situation up during our staff training for the 2013 season to ensure we are responsive.

Thanks for your note. We hope to see you in Natucket again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

For years, my family and I have been enjoying the Summer House. We have stayed at the cottages in 'Sconset as well as enjoyed the restaurant out there. We have been summering in Nantucket for nearly 20 years and it is our favorite spot on the island, which says a lot considering the wonderful options. The food is always delicious and Jamie at the piano is what makes the dinner an experience. Singing along to your favorite songs and enjoying the merry atmosphere will make you feel like a kid again.
As for the cottages, they are charming and a throw back to Old Nantucket. The staff is friendly and this year they have taken the service up another notch. We left my 11 year-old son's beloved stuffed animal in our cottage but did not discover it until well after we returned home and unpacked. When I called the Summer House, they tracked him down and overnighted him to us.
Again, the Summer House is the perfect spot for an, easy, relaxed, getaway. Whether it's as a couple or as a family, you will be enraptured by the charm and the sea breeze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.3 mi away
Vanessa Noel Hotel
Vanessa Noel Hotel
#13 of 14 in Nantucket
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summer House - India Street Inn
0.3 mi away
Pineapple Inn
Pineapple Inn
#31 of 38 in Nantucket
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Century House
Century House
#6 of 38 in Nantucket
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barnacle Inn
Barnacle Inn
#9 of 38 in Nantucket
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin House Inn
Martin House Inn
#7 of 38 in Nantucket
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 Fair Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Fair Street Inn

Property: 27 Fair Street Inn
Address: 27 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3744
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 27 Fair Street Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summer House 27 Fair Street Inn offers accommodations for all needs and tastes. Our charming suites and private cottage, Shakespearian gardens, are all just a short walk from Main Street. We offer a range of amenities to make your stay with us on the Island perfect. Enjoy complimentary Jitney access to our private beachside resort in Siasconset, with a freshwater pool and Atlantic Ocean beach. Other amenities include air conditioning, priority seating at our restaurants, and more... Each room at the Summer House 27 Fair Street offers a distinctively Nantucket lodging experience in the heart of Nantucket's historic district. Our guests enjoy full privileges at our beachside pool and Atlantic Ocean beach in Siasconset, as well as priority access to our three great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 27 Fair Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer House Hotel Siasconset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing