We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum”
Review of Whaling Museum

Whaling Museum
Ranked #1 of 87 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Restored in 2005, the Whaling Museum features top-quality exhibits and galleries, as well as daily programs and tours that bring to life the history of this magical island. The museum is home to a 46-foot sperm whale skeleton, a restored 1847 oil and candle factory, and countless Nantucket artifacts and treasures. A relaxing, fully-accessible rooftop observation deck offers stunning views of Nantucket harbor.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not to be missed. Movie about Nantucket and whaling very informative, however may be a bit too long. Still worth it. Whaling demonstration very interesting. Missed the story telling, too many things to do outdoors. We returned the next day and saw areas of museum we did not see on the previous day.

Thank Fg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your visit to the Whaling Museum. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the signature film "Nantucket" by Ric Burns and some of our daily programming like the Whale Hunt presentation. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have enough time the first day, but we're thrilled that you were able to come back and enjoy the parts of the museum you had yet to see. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Whaling Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 918 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

You can ditch the travel guides and learn the history of the island all in one place. We didn't do a tour but the attendants there seemed to know so much that it didn't matter. Of particular interest was the scrimshaw exhibit. Fascinating as well as educational. Don't save this place for just a rainy day....it is worth the trip!

Thank gojushiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're thrilled to hear that you learned a plethora of information about Nantucket's rich history from some of our expert museum guides. We're glad that you enjoyed our world-class scrimshaw gallery as well. We agree- the Whaling Museum is a must-see destination, no matter what the weather is like! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Whaling Museum provides a terrific history of Nantucket ...not just the whaling...and gives the visitor a true appreciation of the island's history and resiliency. It s well worth sitting through 2 or 3 of the films...then wandering through the halls to see some of the artifacts. The scrimshaw exhibit is amazing and beautiful.
You can probably see the museum in 1-2 hours if you skim through it, but to appreciate it (and with the films) you should plan on 2-3...or more. The ticket also provides entry into other museums in town.

1  Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're so happy to hear that you learned so much about the rich history of Nantucket through some of our exhibits and daily programming. We agree that it's easy to spend your entire day here, which is why our All-Access Pass admission ticket is so convenient! Not only are you allowed multiple reentries to the same site in one day, but you can visit six other historic sites as well on the same ticket. We understand that it can be challenging to take in that much of Nantucket history in one day, but fortunately the All-Access Pass can be used at any point throughout the entire season. We thank you so much for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The storyteller was excellent as was the video. The displays are so well done. Don't miss the roof top view of Nantucket.

Thank luvtogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed some of our signature programming, such as the Nantucket film by Ric Burns, and the multimedia presentations from our excellent museum guides. We agree- the newly renovated rooftop observation deck is THE place to catch an amazing harbor view of Nantucket! We thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The man who did thev talk about the whale hunt was way too long winded. I listened for about 30-45 minutes and he was still going. At the start he said that he was going to bring out a boy to demonstrate something in the show, but still had not done so. I had a feeleing he was going to go on forever and ever!
Also, he spoke about why they called them "right whales" but never mentioned that one of the main reasons they did so was that the right whales floated after they were killed, therefore making them the right whale to kill. Other than that, he did have knowledge of the history.
The exhibits were good, as was the movie about Nantucket, but the speaker was full of hot air and needed to cut his speach down to under 30 minutes!
Staff was nice and pleasant, which you do not always find in these waters.

2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed some of our exhibits and the Nantucket film by Rick Burns, and that you had a great experience interacting with our excellent museum staff. We appreciate your suggestions about the Whale Hunt presentation, as we are always looking for ways to keep our guests of all ages engaged in Nantucket's rich history. We will pass along your comments to the speaker. We thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing