We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and interesting!”
Review of Whaling Museum

Whaling Museum
Ranked #2 of 87 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Restored in 2005, the Whaling Museum features top-quality exhibits and galleries, as well as daily programs and tours that bring to life the history of this magical island. The museum is home to a 46-foot sperm whale skeleton, a restored 1847 oil and candle factory, and countless Nantucket artifacts and treasures. A relaxing, fully-accessible rooftop observation deck offers stunning views of Nantucket harbor.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The storyteller was excellent as was the video. The displays are so well done. Don't miss the roof top view of Nantucket.

Thank luvtogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed some of our signature programming, such as the Nantucket film by Ric Burns, and the multimedia presentations from our excellent museum guides. We agree- the newly renovated rooftop observation deck is THE place to catch an amazing harbor view of Nantucket! We thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"whale skeleton"
in 62 reviews
"moby dick"
in 61 reviews
"whale hunt"
in 28 reviews
"observation deck"
in 33 reviews
"ric burns"
in 22 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 18 reviews
"multimedia presentation"
in 16 reviews
"whale oil"
in 31 reviews
"main hall"
in 13 reviews
"rainy day"
in 54 reviews
"historical sites"
in 26 reviews
"rich history"
in 15 reviews
"gift shop"
in 29 reviews
"walking tour"
in 32 reviews
"island history"
in 26 reviews
"on display"
in 13 reviews
"all ages"
in 31 reviews
Filter

984 - 988 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The man who did thev talk about the whale hunt was way too long winded. I listened for about 30-45 minutes and he was still going. At the start he said that he was going to bring out a boy to demonstrate something in the show, but still had not done so. I had a feeleing he was going to go on forever and ever!
Also, he spoke about why they called them "right whales" but never mentioned that one of the main reasons they did so was that the right whales floated after they were killed, therefore making them the right whale to kill. Other than that, he did have knowledge of the history.
The exhibits were good, as was the movie about Nantucket, but the speaker was full of hot air and needed to cut his speach down to under 30 minutes!
Staff was nice and pleasant, which you do not always find in these waters.

2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed some of our exhibits and the Nantucket film by Rick Burns, and that you had a great experience interacting with our excellent museum staff. We appreciate your suggestions about the Whale Hunt presentation, as we are always looking for ways to keep our guests of all ages engaged in Nantucket's rich history. We will pass along your comments to the speaker. We thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

LOVE this museum! Get there when it opens, because to read everything, see all the exhibits, and get the most out of your visit, you'll need every available minute and still you won't leave until closing time! A can't-miss when on Nantucket

Thank oldways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much and we agree, it's easy to spend an entire day learning all about Nantucket's rich history! We're very thankful for your recommendation and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The whaling museum is a great way to learn the history of Nantucket. The introductory lecture is well worth the price of admission as the speaker was exceptional!

Thank allisonsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Allison,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed learning about the rich history of Nantucket with some of our daily programming, such as the Whale Hunt presentation and the Essex Gam. We're glad to hear that you found the All-Access Pass to be worthwhile and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed learning sth new.
Did the package. In addition to the museum, enjoyed inner light and the oldest house very much.

Thank vegetarian-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed using your All-Access Pass admission for the museum and other historic sites, such as Greater Light and the Oldest House. We're glad that you had fun learning about the rich history of Nantucket, and we hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing