We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Must see if you are in the area

Everything from the displays to the staff made this a great experience, especially for an indoor... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
263deb
,
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Beautiful

Wonderful and educational! a gem! We went with our 3 young children and would have stayed a lot... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Tour54600011183
Read all 1,438 reviews
  
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveler rating
1,094
278
46
17
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,094
278
46
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale skeleton moby dick whale hunt observation deck ric burns great exhibits multimedia presentation whale oil main hall rainy day historical sites gift shop rich history walking tour couple of hours on display island history
Filter
Updating list...
1,147 - 1,152 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great museum. Learned about whaling, the roof deck is beautiful and the whale skeleton is unbelievable. Worth the visit!

Thank Alax75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed learning about Nantucket's whaling origins, accented by our very own 46 foot sperm whale skeleton. We agree- the view from the rooftop observation deck is not to be missed! We thank you so much for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Over the years we've been there often - each time with a small collection of kids of all ages. Take your time and do it early on your first visit to the island so you can get a better sense of the role Nantucket played in the development of our country. Some of the whale skeletons give you a better perspective on what Moby Dick must have looked like.

Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Wayne,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We are so appreciative of your continuous support and your multiple visits! We agree, the Whaling Museum is THE place to learn about Nantucket's rich history on any day, no matter what the weather! We're thrilled to hear that artifacts such as our 46-foot sperm whale skeleton helped to paint a picture for your and your family of what life was like back in the heyday of whaling. Thank you so much for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice compact museum in Nantucket. Several videos on the history of the island and of whaling itself. It had a separate "Children's room" that was engaging for the little ones.

Thank swanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your visit last month to the Whaling Museum. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed some of our signature daily programming, such as the "Nantucket" film by Ric Burns and the multimedia Whale Hunt presentation. We're glad that your little ones enjoyed their visit to the Discovery Room as well- it's the best place to combine history and play all at once! We thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thought it would be the "usual" whaling stuff - surprised instead by the ability to place those events in the framework of our countries development and Nantucket's far reaching connections throughout the world. I even learned something about the Hawaiian Island chain I didn't know after living there 5 years.

Thank wpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Whaling Museum. We're thrilled to hear that you learned more than you anticipated about Nantucket's rich history and its place in the world (even somewhere you once lived!) during the heyday of whaling. We thank you so much for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What an interesting, little place to visit!
A great, little side trip if you can tear yourself away from the lobstahs!

Thank OldSeasonedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Visited July 2013

Thank you for your review of your visit to the Whaling Museum this summer. We're thrilled that you were able to take a break and escape to learn a little bit about Nantucket's rich history. We thank you for visiting and hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews