We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whaling Museum

Whaling Museum
Ranked #1 of 82 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Restored in 2005, the Whaling Museum features top-quality exhibits and galleries, as well as daily programs and tours that bring to life the history of this magical island. The museum is home to a 46-foot sperm whale skeleton, a restored 1847 oil and candle factory, and countless Nantucket artifacts and treasures. A relaxing, fully-accessible rooftop observation deck offers stunning views of Nantucket harbor.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Here is the usual collection of 19th century marine artifacts you'd expect to see in a whaling museum, and this destination might be a bit boring for younger children, or people accustomed to getting all their information from a touch screen.

What makes the Whaling Museum distinctive are its windswept roof walk with its overview of Nantucket Harbor (a rare view on this low-lying Island) and the live storytelling by Museum staff, who bring alive the tale of the Essex survivors in a room where a lifeboat and the skeleton of a young whale are on display, giving a dramatic sense of scale to the tragic story.

Upstairs, there are artworks and exhibits of the Island's "indoor life" including the roles that women played during the whaling era.

For historians, researchers and anyone with a curious imagination, you will want to carve out a good chunk of time to explore!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yogainthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you visited and were able to enjoy so many of the museum's unique attributes, including our beloved roof walk with its view of Nantucket Harbor.

Amongst the amazing artifacts, it is the museum staff and guides who truly bring the stories of Nantucket history alive. Thank you for recognizing their talent and hard work!

We also encourage our family visitors to drop by the Discovery Room, our dedicate youth center within the museum, for the latest in crafts, games, books and activities - fun for the whole family!

Thanks again for the visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    210
    32
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
387 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Not to miss!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect but am so glad we went. The museum is replete with artifacts, replicas and history on the whaling industry. So fascinating and a beautiful view from the roof!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We agree that the view from the rooftop is not -to-be-missed, especially with all of the extra enhancements that we have added this year! Free wi-fi and gorgeous new landscaping and seating! The artifacts in our collection tell a marvelous tale of Nantucket history and we can't wait for you to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Best Historical Society Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the whaling boat on display to the skeleton of a sperm whale that beached itself on the island in 1999 hanging from the ceiling, plus the 45 narrated film on the history of Nantucket narrated by Ken Burns, the Whaling Museum is remarkable. It also houses the candle house which shows how the whale oil is processed and what it is used for. Don't forget to go out on the roof for a panoramic view!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kristina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Kristina! Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are so excited that you enjoyed all we have to offer, including the whale skeleton, the restored candle factory and the Ric Burns film. Thank you for your kind declaration of "Best Historical Society ever". We work very hard to please our visitors and appreciate your words of support! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The movie was good, but long. The movie overlapped the walking tour so we didn't see all of it. Spent all morning with the movie and walking tour and didn't have time to see the rest of the museum that we paid for. Museum exhibits looked well done.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GGDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you visited the museum in October. Our signature Ric Burns film does squeeze in hundreds of years of fascinating history into 54 minutes. We have a plethora of daily offerings including the film, gallery tours and walking tours. We encourage all of our visitors to take advantage of our all-day pass, which allows for multiple museum entries with the same ticket in one day. Folks really seem to enjoy the freedom it offers. We are glad you visited and hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a piece of local history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

loved the storytelling, and the artifacts. Don't miss the view from the top, we were there while the cherry trees were blooming and it was beautiful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank femmegettingsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that enjoyed the wonderful tour guides and storytelling that we offer here at the Whaling Museum. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the newly upgraded rooftop observation deck. With all of the new landscaping and comfy seating (not to mention the free wi-fi), it has been a real hit! We have more surprises for 2013, so stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing