We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss!”
Review of Whaling Museum

Whaling Museum
Ranked #1 of 87 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Restored in 2005, the Whaling Museum features top-quality exhibits and galleries, as well as daily programs and tours that bring to life the history of this magical island. The museum is home to a 46-foot sperm whale skeleton, a restored 1847 oil and candle factory, and countless Nantucket artifacts and treasures. A relaxing, fully-accessible rooftop observation deck offers stunning views of Nantucket harbor.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect but am so glad we went. The museum is replete with artifacts, replicas and history on the whaling industry. So fascinating and a beautiful view from the roof!

Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We agree that the view from the rooftop is not -to-be-missed, especially with all of the extra enhancements that we have added this year! Free wi-fi and gorgeous new landscaping and seating! The artifacts in our collection tell a marvelous tale of Nantucket history and we can't wait for you to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,064 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the whaling boat on display to the skeleton of a sperm whale that beached itself on the island in 1999 hanging from the ceiling, plus the 45 narrated film on the history of Nantucket narrated by Ken Burns, the Whaling Museum is remarkable. It also houses the candle house which shows how the whale oil is processed and what it is used for. Don't forget to go out on the roof for a panoramic view!

Thank kristina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Kristina! Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are so excited that you enjoyed all we have to offer, including the whale skeleton, the restored candle factory and the Ric Burns film. Thank you for your kind declaration of "Best Historical Society ever". We work very hard to please our visitors and appreciate your words of support! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The movie was good, but long. The movie overlapped the walking tour so we didn't see all of it. Spent all morning with the movie and walking tour and didn't have time to see the rest of the museum that we paid for. Museum exhibits looked well done.

Thank GGDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you visited the museum in October. Our signature Ric Burns film does squeeze in hundreds of years of fascinating history into 54 minutes. We have a plethora of daily offerings including the film, gallery tours and walking tours. We encourage all of our visitors to take advantage of our all-day pass, which allows for multiple museum entries with the same ticket in one day. Folks really seem to enjoy the freedom it offers. We are glad you visited and hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

loved the storytelling, and the artifacts. Don't miss the view from the top, we were there while the cherry trees were blooming and it was beautiful.

Thank femmegettingsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that enjoyed the wonderful tour guides and storytelling that we offer here at the Whaling Museum. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the newly upgraded rooftop observation deck. With all of the new landscaping and comfy seating (not to mention the free wi-fi), it has been a real hit! We have more surprises for 2013, so stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Small but fascinating and creatively designed museum. Great way to get a sense not only of the history of whaling as an industry but of the history of Nantucket and, in fact, of the economic, cultural, and intellectual history of the United States. Go for the entire day if possible, though, since you'll get the most of of this little museum by alternating the films, lectures, and tours with time on your own looking at the exhibits. Once you've paid to go in, you can come and go throughout the day. A bit pricey at $15 per adult, but you do get your money's worth if you stay long enough to see what this place has to offer.

Thank EarthTraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Wow! Thank you for your kind review! We love it when visitors see what a "gem of a museum" we are!! We couldn't agree with you more that alternating the films, lectures, and tours with time on your own looking at the exhibits is the BEST way to take advantage of your time here. Our all-day pass makes it easy to come and go, and we have lots more in store for 2013. Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing