We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating museum”
Review of Whaling Museum

Whaling Museum
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Restored in 2005, the Whaling Museum features top-quality exhibits and galleries, as well as daily programs and tours that bring to life the history of this magical island. The museum is home to a 46-foot sperm whale skeleton, a restored 1847 oil and candle factory, and countless Nantucket artifacts and treasures. A relaxing, fully-accessible rooftop observation deck offers stunning views of Nantucket harbor.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you have read Nathaniel Philbrick, Heart of the Sea, this will be a must stop for you. If you have not read, go and hear all about the story of the whalers from Nantucket.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanisDux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Janis, thank you for sharing your experience at the Whaling Museum with other travelers. I am glad that you suggested reading "In the Heart of the Sea" by Nathaniel Philbrick, as it captures the history of whaling on Nantucket beautifully. However, as you said, our museum presentations offer a very palatable story of the whalers experiences if you have not read the book! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    226
    34
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just do it”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The whaling history of the town is all there to see.The movie is most informative.
Ladies at the front desk are great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Whaling Museum. We will definitely let the ladies at the front desk know how appreciated they are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you love history...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I, together with our daughter and son-in-law, visited Nantucket mid-October 2012 and this attraction was at the top of our list. We were not disappointed. We spent two hours there on our first day and went back again the next day to soak in more information. The introductory movie (about one hour) is first rate and the exhibits are scattered throughout the museum is a very user-friendly fashion. Since my wife's ancestors were sea captains and shipbuilders from Nantucket, we had a special interest in the multitude of adventures described -- but I believe they would be of high interest to anyone. Put simply, it's one of the very best museums for local history that we've seen anywhere. Note: if you arrive there offseason be prepared for very limited hours of operation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Jim, your review of the Whaling Museum is inspiring. I can imagine that your visit to the museum had a deep and powerful significance to your wife, given her heritage. We are thrilled that you spent two days here to absorb all the information and fully enjoy the film, Nantucket, by Ric Burns. It touches the hearts of all the staff to read your review and have you consider our museum "one of the very best museums for local history" that you have seen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
“Magical place for kids”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I work at the Whaling Museum (in full discolsure), but I am writing this review on behalf of my two-year old son Finley. In his eyes, as he enters the museum, an amazing adventure begins. He follows the trail of "A to Z" letters on the floor leading upstairs, then races to point at the "sellton" (skeleton) of the "dinosaur-whale," takes a turn in to another gallery to visit with the model of the Nantucket Railroad, and then proceeds happily to the Discovery Room where there is so much fun activity that he needs to be "pried" away every time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks Ben for your honest review of the Whaling Museum! We love all of the wonderful kids who visit us, including the children of our beloved staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roof deck worth the price of admission”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The roof deck is worth the price of admission! The Ric Burns movie, Nantucket was beautifully shot & informative. Great artifacts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHATeam, Public Relations Manager at Whaling Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Lisa, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Whaling Museum and had the opportunity to see the incredible view of Nantucket town from the roof deck. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing