We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach on ACK....if you have a 4WD vehicle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madaket Beach

Ranked #5 of 83 things to do in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the south side of Nantucket, this beach is known for its rough surf.
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
223 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great beach on ACK....if you have a 4WD vehicle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

This year the beach was so wide that cars were allowed to drive 3/4 of the way to the point. Then in mid August, the terns had all fledged, and we could now drive to the tip of Smith's point! There USED to be geat fishing there. This August, the fishing was lousy.
This surf beach is pristine. Generally, those on the beach don't leave garbage around...though I did see a pile of used and broken chairs, waiting for who??? to clean up!
It is long enough so you can find some space, and not be cozied up to the next car on the beach.
It is a great beach on Nantucket!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Not too windy, large beach, good sand, a bit of waves, not too crowded. Ride your bike out there for a little exercise ;)

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjlothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was the most exquisite beach on Nantucket. Nice at any time of day. We rode bicycles to get there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PiggyMarcello4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Madaket beach is one of our favorite beaches for taking long walks with our dogs. Walking East from the where the life guards are takes you to Smith Point, empty beaches and wildlife.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PIRwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Heaven at the end of the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Beautiful, pristine beach. Took the WAVE TRANSPORTATION from town.....$2.00 rt, 15 min ride. Not heavily populated, quiet. Eat at MILLIES! 2 minute walk from the beach. Millie's is a must to end your day at Madaket!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank janet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madaket Beach also viewed

 

Been to Madaket Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing