We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shanghai Gardens Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 91 Restaurants in Attleboro
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent service, great drinks, delicious food! We went in later on a Monday night. Not crowded at all. I have been to Shanghai numerous times in the past and have always been happy with the service and the food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great drinks, terrible food.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are meeting for drinks, this is the place. If you like sushi, stay away. Fruity nice concoctions from the mixologist. Old, pre made sushi. Dont eat, drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Days of Good Customer Service are Long Gone!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Let me start by saying that my husband and I have been to Shanghai numerous times in the past. This past experience was enough to wipe every good memory from existence.

We were seated right away on a very slow Wednesday night. We ordered a combination plate to share as we never finish one on our own anyways, an order of chicken fingers, and 2 fountain drinks. Service was well enough and we didn't have to wait very long for the food. We were almost done with our meal when we requested a free refill on our sodas. Waitress said no problem.

Imagine our surprise when we get a bill for $30; $10 of that being drinks. When we asked the waitress how much the sodas were she said $2.50 each. We said we thought it was free refills, she said no. She came by again as we were still trying to wrap our heads around this. We said we'd been here before and were never told this, she said she's worked there for 8 years and it's never been free. We asked to speak to her manager. She told us he was upfront, as if suggesting we go get him ourselves. We asked her to get the manager for us.

The "white haired man" who's been referred to in a previous Yelp review came to our table and that's when the fun really started! We stated our case and he said that they don't offer free refills, that "we're not McDonalds." We said we were never told that when we asked for free refills and he said that the waitress said she told us. We said no, and he proceeded to say that they weren't free so he didn't know what else to tell us. He said no restaurants that aren't chains offer free refills. I told him that was a lie because we eat at other local restaurants and they're always free. His was response was to have us list these restaurants! He proceeded to give us an attitude with not so much of apology even after we told him he was going to lose repeat business.

We paid the bill, did not tip, and we will not be back. I've already alerted all my friends on Facebook and got many replies with non chain restaurants that do offer free refills. I guess the days of good customer service are gone! Apparently the "white haired man" doesn't realize how easily replaceable Chinese restaurants are.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vluciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for snacks.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've been to Shanghai only for drinks and appetizers and it was perfectly pleasant and yummie. We came after a work open house party and there had to be 15 or more of us sitting in the bar/lounge and we had great service. The bartender even made a special flaming drink for a co-worker for his birthday. I'll have to go back and try more of the food but the drinks and snacks were great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I didn't know they still made Chung King until last night.”
Reviewed December 23, 2010

The outside looks pleasant enough,but lose all hope all ye who enter. We saw that the bar was full upon entering,but the dining room sparsely seated,a sign of strong drinks but bad food.Our waiter passed our table three times and stopped long enough to say he'd be with us in a minute,but not long enough to take a simple drink order. While waiting we both noted what a poor job of lighting the ample contemporary fixtures gave off. Everything looks washed out. When our waiter finally got around to us,he did not once look at us and his speech was more of a disgruntles mumble. Drinks are strong as we suspected,but bottom shelf. The pot of "hot tea" was tinny tasting,luke warm .Our tempura shrimp appetizer was breaded,not battered and obviously out of a box.After waiting over 30 minutes for our food,we found the flavors to be not unlike the old Chung King canned meals,only not as good quality. My "Mongolian Steak" was rubber tough and I nearly choked on it. It was bathed in soggy onions and canned looking mushrooms in a bland brown gravy with no flavor at what-so-ever.The tofu dish was slimy and the sauce equally as bland as the beef dish with the added disappointment of frozen vegetables in the mix. Even the rice was not properly cooked,hard inside and starchy outside. We both struggled down about two bites of each dish and asked for the check making sure to show our waiter that our food awful and virtually untouched. The manager comped us for one of the meals,which still left us to pay $30 for a meal that was left behind at our table to be thrown in the garbage where it belonged. Avoid this travesty of a restaurant !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank culinaryliterati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Gardens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing