We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good food-horrible atmosphere- take out!”

El Azteca Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Attleboro
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“pretty good food-horrible atmosphere- take out!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Inside is old and smelled like bathroom disinfectant.

However, food was pretty good if bland. Salsa was thin and watery, but had a better flavor then the spicy sauce which tasted like water and hot sauce had been mixed together. I had 2 steak tacos with and a side of rice and beans. They were only $2.50 each and had the grilled steak with fresh chopped cilantro and onions- street tacos. Not much flavor in the steak, however. Cut up too small and thin. My BF had the burrito special which had a chicken burrito and a beef one, I think. He said it was pretty good. Rice just plan, not Mexican rice and refried beans- tasting like it was poured out of a can, but not horrible.

I would get take out in the future, but it's just not pleasant inside.
The server was very nice but smelling disinfectant is really a deterrent for eating. It was strange too- on Yelp it said it was only open Mon-Fri, so I called as it was Sunday at 5 pm and they said they were open until 8:30 pm. Not a way to drive business to your door. Only the owners can adjust that online.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sassyboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
443 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“No Flavor”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place was LOUSY! For a Mexican place you would expect the food to have some flavor even if it is just spice, not here.. Everything was bland lacking any type of seasoning or flavor. Service started out really well, then soon became a ghost. To bad I was looking forward to having a nice Mexican place in my area

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faloughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Nite Out”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is our first experience with this restaurant in Attleboro, MA. My son-in-law's family from Costa Rica had been visiting them and this was a celebration and good by dinner. I have to say that the restaurant as reviewed by many doesn't do any justice from the outside. But that's where it stops. The atmosphere of the interior restaurant is basically what you would see in a small but family owned restaurant. You don't have the cloth table cloths or the cloth napkins but what you do have is good to excellent ethic food and coupled with good service. Prices vary from small individual dishes to a complete meal with a salad and the entree. I believe that some dishes could be cheaper but overall, pricing is good for portions served. I would definitely go back there for another enjoyable and delicious meal. You won't be dissatisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joepd4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mexican experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This little restaurant appears a bit sketchy from the outside. We weren't sure we wanted to try it when we arrived. The food was decent. The fried ice cream was disappointing but the rest of our meal was good. Service was prompt. It was good we didn't have to wait long as we were visiting with out children.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pajamakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Margarita's, No Frills Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

El Azteca has been a a family favorite for years. Great variety of Margaritas, (size and ingredients). Large menu. Delicious homemade chips and salsa. Solid kids menu including some non-Mexican standbys for the super fussy. Soup is great too. Try the queso dip.

Tacky?No
Authentic? Yes
Fancy? No
Quality? Yes

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuropeinFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing