We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lights”

National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Attleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas Lights”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you have not seen the Christmas lights here, it is worth a visit. I would recommend coming during the week, right before the lights go on. It gets crazy on the weekends. Although a Catholic shrine, all can appreciate the beauty of the lights.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneMart33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    36
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gift Shop Too...”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stopped here today (a weekday in December) so my wife could buy some rosaries for her mother for Christmas. To our surprise the gift shop was crowded and lively. The area leading up to the entrance was full of displays, foods and other seasonal events. The Shrine was also preparing for its annual Christmas Light Display in which thousands of lights and other displays are turned on each evening throughout the Christmas season. Several years ago we went with our daughter and her family as well as her in-laws from Brazil and they were in awe. If you are in the area during Christmas it is a must visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho ~ Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Family Outdoor Activity”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

With winter on its way and it getting dark, outdoor activities are limited so this was something to look forward to. It is free and fun to peruse around. Although this place is Catholic based, I didn't feel like it was being shoved on me to become a Catholic. They have a walkway with stories about how Santa came to be, the symbolic prayer steps, different stations showing Christ's life, a rosary walk, an alphabet of the season display, a small cultural house with cultural cutouts, an indoor nativity exhibit that was way cool showing many different types of nativities from all over the world, lights everywhere and other things here and there. A carousel is on site as well to provide entertainment for the kids (I think rides are like $3 each), and there are stands with hot cocoa, cider, and other goodies are scattered about. It's worth the drive from Providence and other nearby areas. Go check it out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blumenla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Christmas lights Extravaganza”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Whatever your beliefs are checking out these lights is a must in the Holiday Season! Nothing gets me more in the mood then some Hot chocolate, Christmas music and walking around La Salette looking at the lights.. they have all 3 of that going on there! Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Shrine is extremely beautiful on Thanksgiving Day when at approximately 5:00 PM they have the Christmas Lights go on. I have been there three times on trips up to Massachussetts to visit my family and friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette also viewed

 

Been to National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing