We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Outdoor Activity”

National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Attleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boise, Idaho ~ Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Family Outdoor Activity”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

With winter on its way and it getting dark, outdoor activities are limited so this was something to look forward to. It is free and fun to peruse around. Although this place is Catholic based, I didn't feel like it was being shoved on me to become a Catholic. They have a walkway with stories about how Santa came to be, the symbolic prayer steps, different stations showing Christ's life, a rosary walk, an alphabet of the season display, a small cultural house with cultural cutouts, an indoor nativity exhibit that was way cool showing many different types of nativities from all over the world, lights everywhere and other things here and there. A carousel is on site as well to provide entertainment for the kids (I think rides are like $3 each), and there are stands with hot cocoa, cider, and other goodies are scattered about. It's worth the drive from Providence and other nearby areas. Go check it out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blumenla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    36
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
226 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Christmas lights Extravaganza”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Whatever your beliefs are checking out these lights is a must in the Holiday Season! Nothing gets me more in the mood then some Hot chocolate, Christmas music and walking around La Salette looking at the lights.. they have all 3 of that going on there! Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Shrine is extremely beautiful on Thanksgiving Day when at approximately 5:00 PM they have the Christmas Lights go on. I have been there three times on trips up to Massachussetts to visit my family and friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
1 review
“New Years Eve Tradition”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I always go on New years and its the coolest when you are there when the lights come on :) Really pretty park and they have music playing throughout the place every night starting late November :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abbie:) B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“#1 Thing to do at Christmas”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visiting LaSalette reminds us of the reason why we celebrate Christmas. Amid thousands of beautiful lights, stroll around the pond, lifesize Nativity, Stations of the Cross, light a candle for a loved one, attend Mass, great gift shop for Christmas presents, browse the display of small Nativity scenes from around the world, then have a hot cider or sit down inside and have a bite and a hot drink, and maybe purchase a pastry for the way home! What could be better?

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette also viewed

 

Been to National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing