We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Thing to do at Christmas”

National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Attleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“#1 Thing to do at Christmas”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visiting LaSalette reminds us of the reason why we celebrate Christmas. Amid thousands of beautiful lights, stroll around the pond, lifesize Nativity, Stations of the Cross, light a candle for a loved one, attend Mass, great gift shop for Christmas presents, browse the display of small Nativity scenes from around the world, then have a hot cider or sit down inside and have a bite and a hot drink, and maybe purchase a pastry for the way home! What could be better?

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    36
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great family outing”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been visiting the Shrine for over 25 years and it never disappoints!! I suggest that you get there before they turn the lights on if possible. You can visit the crafts and bizarre room, visit with Santa, eat in the cafeteria, satisfy your religous needs or visit the gift shop prior to the lights going on. I got hand knitted mittens for my grandson for only $3.00 at the bizarre. Santa pictures are only $5.00. Again get there early or you will be in a very long line! They have a meat pie dinner in the cafeteria with mashed potatoes and veggie very inexpensive and delicious!! They have your basic hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken fingers, dough boys, etc. They cook it fresh in front of you and the prices are very resonable. Ahhhhhh, but the lights are the most glorious reason to enjoy an evening out with family! They even have a little carousel outside for the kids. Dont miss out on the hot chocolate or hot apple cider in your Lasalette flashing light cup! ($8.00) We get a couple every year! Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful meditative place.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Well known for its Christmas display of lights but also a lovely place to simply walk around the Rosary Pond or indulge at the Retreat House for time for personal prayer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Christmas Lights”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Going to LaSalette to view the Christmas displays have been a tradition in our family for 40 years. and then the Hot Chocolate afterwards.....Its just part of our Holiday celebration every year.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sanctuary”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

LaSalette is a very peaceful place to spend an afternoon. There is a calmness which overcomes you when you walk around the grounds. It is quite a different place when you do not go during the Christmas season which is overflowing with families.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank majcc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette also viewed

 

Been to National Shrine of our Lady of La Salette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing