We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Par Excellance for food and ambiance !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonel Blackinton Inn

The Colonel Blackinton Inn
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Attleboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 203 North Main Street
Transit: Attleboro Train Station
Mass.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Par Excellance for food and ambiance !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is such a thing as "class," and that is all there is to it ! ... The Blackinton Inn has class !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BorntoroamLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    34
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful "special occassion" venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A little pricey for the average consumer but worth the splurge for a special birthday, anniversary or other celebration. Excellent food and service. Looking forward to the next family endeavor coming soon to Attleboro!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere....will definitely come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a great location to share a lovely dinner with friends, family or a romantic dinner for two. The Inn is decorated beautifully for the holidays, and inside is very warm and inviting.

This was my first visit here and I was able to make a last minute reservation (that day).as it was a Monday at 7 pm for two. We had wanted to try it here for a while so i was delighted to get in.

When I made the reservation, i gave them my name and told the woman it was my birthday and i was looking forward to it. she said - oh- it's YOUR birthday? Not rude but surprised i was making my own reservation?

We got there and were seated promptly. The linens were lovely, the holiday decorations were everywhere. Very nice. The server was professional and my water glass was never empty for long. A touch I truly appreciate. They bought us fresh bread, butter, dipping oil and a small bowl of olives,

The menu was varied and I ordered the clam chowder, salad, baked seafood newburg with lobster, shrimp, scallops and swordfish. My BF had the french onion soup, salad, and fra diavlo with lobster.

The clam chowder was too much like a bisque for me, but my BF enjoyed the french onion soup. Lots of onions, bread and cheese in a nice beef broth. Our salad were fresh and crunchy with the house dressing. Really nice. My seafood newburg was excellent., with enough sauce to keep the seafood moist with a wonderful sherry newburg flavor. So many times baked seafood is overcooked in restaurants because there isn't enough sauce and it dries out while baking. My BF's fra diavlo was over huge rotini- unusual, but it kept the sauce on the pasta and was a great choice.

I loved that the server used a bread scraper for the crumbs- another lost art except at very elegant places.

Overall, very happy. I will say I was disappointed that they never recognized my birthday. There was another table in the room where they came out with a dessert for her birthday and it was special. Even a Happy Birthday from the server would have been nice. I do think that at a place like this the server , after introducing themselves, should ask if this is a special occasion or just a nice night out. it would step up the service that extra notch.

I would definitely go back , but maybe not for a birthday or anniversary unless i knew it would be recognized by the server/restaurant. Unless someone else but the birthday person needs to make the reservation?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sassyboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my family to treat our mom to a nice dinner. We enjoyed the main dishes very much. The chef also can accommodate for special dietary needs and modified the recipe accordingly. The waiter was very pleasant with a great sense oh humor. It really lent to our festive occasion. The wine list was adequate and we chose a good Pinot Grigio. Overall it was a very good evening.

Helpful?
Thank ToddJH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Have visited many times, always on top of their game. Food is excellant, staff makes sure you are well taken care of. Atmosphere is awesome! Nice place to relax at bar have an app., a glass of wine and just unwind. I recommend a visit , you'll definately want to come back.
Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1212chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonel Blackinton Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Colonel Blackinton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing