We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and atmosphre fo a quick lunch or dinner”

Jimmy's Steer House
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place and atmosphre fo a quick lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Their food is prepared with attention to detail along with their service staff who are energetic, helpful and on top of things, Convenient parking and the waiting line moves without lagging. The prime rib is delicious and ell cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    48
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Arlington's favorite, always crowded....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I live walking distance to the steer house and it seems to be the most favorite restaurant of Arlington seniors even if it is quite far away from Arlington Center. It's so popular that there is always a backed up traffic to enter the parking lot at lunch time and early dinner hours especially on weekends. It's a typical family dining spot.

I like their cheeseburger (there is only one type of burger in here), very tasty meat comes with fries. I also tried teriyaki steak and steak tips (comes with fresh salad and a side). Both were tasty. Compared to other fancy steak houses, prices are very good.

Service is usually good. Parking is easy ( parking lot and free on street parking).

Jimmy Steer House is an Arlington classic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Metropolis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Ma.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food at Great Prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Jimmy's Steer House in Arlington is one of my favorite restaurants! Always have a wonderful meal at a great price. I love a restaurant that includes a salad with your dinner entrée and not too many do that anymore. Jimmy's includes a big delicious salad with your dinner entrée.

The service is usually great as well, although there are a few waitresses that are not that great. Lucky my family and I usually get the "great" ones!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lot of good food for a small price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hearing thy had good food and reasonable pricing from several people I went out of my way to find Jimmy's. The food, service and pricing should make the owners very proud. I can see why the regulars eat here all the time. I had a small steak, fresh vegetables and a salad all for under $15 and even had left overs. Not gourmet, but a major step above any comprable fast food American steak house. The menu was varied, everything sounded interesting and those around me were all having a great time. A definate thumbs up when looking for this type of food experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
205 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Consistency rings through”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

A largish group of us had a great meal at Jimmy's. The service was great. The food was good. We had a great evening. The waitress gets an extra star for putting up with us. We will return again and again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Steer House also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Steer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing