We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Jimmy's Steer House
Ranked #5 of 113 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Armenian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great time”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great food, the service was a little bit slow but it was also the end of the night so it would not surprise me if she was just tired. The food was awesome I had steak tips an they were perfectly cooked. Everybody at the table loved their food, would of been five stars if the waitstaff was a little better. Definitly recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie11492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Filet Mignon and prices”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Their specialties are crabmeat pie, steaks, Italian specialties--delightful eggplant parm and raviolis, fun mixed drinks including daily specials. Sports bar too, attractive decor, simple menu, but usually a serious wait to be seated at high traffic times. Worth it for the excellent food and very good prices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Geritol Served Here”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This joint aspires to mediocrity - and falls short. But it seems to be popular with the Geritol set. It's longevity seems to validate P.T. Barnum's sage advice - there's a sucker born every minute. Noisy and dark with cafeteria food fancied up for the uninitiated.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food between shifts”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We went to Jimmy's yesterday around 3:30p.m. There was no wait as a matter of fact it was one of the quietest times I've seen at the restaurant. Shortly after we were seated the waitress buzzed by and said she would be right with us, she then picked up the bill for the table in front of us and went out back. My husband and I were distracted from the wait by looking at the menu. I was pleasantly surprised to notice that we got lunch menus!! As soon as I realized this I suggested that we get an appetizer. The waitress seemed a little busy but I think that was because she was the only one taking tables at the time we arrived. When she did come over she took our drink order and said she would be back in a minute. When she came back she had warm rolls and said the drinks were being made at the bar. We ordered our appetizer, potato skins, and she left to get our drinks. Once the drinks and potato skins arrived we dug in the potato skins were hot with a good amount of cheese and bacon on top. There were 6 to the order we only ate 4 as we knew we were going to get salads. The salads arrived and they were cold, crisp and dressed. I forgot to ask for the dressing on the side. As it was my fault I let it go and enjoyed the salad. The waitress checked back to make sure everything was as we ordered and I asked for a glass of water which she brought quickly. Once the meals arrived, I got a petite steak smothered in oinions, peppers and mushrooms and my husband got the chicken and eggplant parmesian, we realized we would have some leftovers. The steak was cooked to order and came with a baked potato that was cooked perfectly. My husbands parmesian was also terrific and with one piece of chicken and 2 or 3 pieces of eggplant along with pasta lots of food for the money.We also got dessert we each ordered the strawberry shortcake. Trust me this is a dessert that can be shared!! It was huge. I think it was 1 and one half biscuits covered in strawberry sauce with some strawberries and four dolups of whip cream! Yummy!!! Overall a good meal with good service for a GREAT price. We will be back!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillbillyhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, standard are. Lots of old people.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Prices are low, service friendly, food consistent. Teriyaki steak is my favorite. But, if you're under 60, you'll stick out. It's OK, though. It's a reasonably priced meal in a good atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank piesie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Steer House also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Steer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing