We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”

Punjab Indian Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 113 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Since opening in 1999, Punjab restaurant has garnered rave reviews for quality and execution of our superb Indian cuisine. Only the freshest and highest quality ingredients are used to prepare it. Our staff is always friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. And you are always welcome here.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have eaten here countless times, and I'm always impressed with the quality of the taste and food. By far the best Indian restaurant in the Arlington/Cambridge/Somerville area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tm77rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“food is so-so, service is ho-hum, location is great!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've eaten at Punjab many many times. The food has been consistent; consistently ho-hum. there's nothing there that I would say really stands out as being exceptional. The service is like most Indian restaurants in the US; reasonable. Don't expect the wait staff to pair wine with the food for you, they likely don't drink. You get a couple of kinds of Indian beer and some local beer, they have a full service bar but the bartender can't mix a drink particularly well.

Good comfort food; four people for about $60, one for about $20 at dinner. They have no lunch buffet.

The location, excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amrith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great job, Punjab!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of our “go to” restaurants here in the Boston area. It’s consistently great food, the service is outstanding and the atmosphere is clean and charming.

Tonight, we went for dinner. We ate at the bar. I had the Ginger Basil Gimlet, one of my favorite drinks around. For starters we had the Meat Samosas. For entrees we ordered the Tandoori Chicken which comes with Naan and the Chicken Tikka Masala (because I am an unreformed middle aged white guy). The total bill for our meal, including drinks and before tip was right around $46.00. The meal was excellent.

I really recommend the Punjab Bar which is maybe Arlington’s best kept secret. It is nicely laid out, never crowded and the drinks are among the best in town. There are two TV’s so you can watch the Red Sox AND the Bruins.

Bottom line: Great Indian food, great drinks, comfortable atmosphere. A place you can easily bring friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csd02476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food, service was terrific”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enjoyed my first experience at Punjab. The staff was careful not to place cilantro into my entrees as I am allergic. The meals were delicious and filling. The MAAN was terrific with our entree as were the appetizer rolls. Overall...great experience and will plan on returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Unsurpassable Indian food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Located in Arlington Center, Punjab boasts a tastefully decorated venue with courteous staff, great service, freshly made naan and other Indian breads, and superb Indian cuisine. The lamb tikka was exceptional, chicken and lamb masala was superb, prices were quite reasonable. ~ $60.00 for 2 adults 3 children. I don't give 5's lightly, go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjab Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Punjab Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing