We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favorite”
Review of Scutra

Scutra
Ranked #14 of 114 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mill St.
Description: Welcome to Scutra. We feature European Bistro style cuisine with a local flare. We have a full bar. We have plenty of parking in our two lots and look forward to seeing you soon. Bon Apetit
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Scutra is one of our favorite local restaurants - the staff is always warm and welcoming and the food is fabulous.....always a mix of new menu items with old favorites. Scutra is a place we return to time and time again and a great place to take out of town visitors!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always great food, which means always busy...”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

...so book ahead. Food is imaginative continental/american cuisine in 'sensible' portions. Service is always attentive. Crowd tends to be mainly over fifties, so no mad party scene here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably recommended by weight watchers”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The food was tasty but portions were very small for the prices. I don't recommend going here on a empty stomach

Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Scutra: excellent dinner”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely dinner at Scutra. It was the last night of their lobster fest and we shared lobster Wellington and lobster and crab ravioli. We live around the corner and somehow have overlooked this restaurant. The service was outstanding. There is ample free parking. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strathspey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billskis
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dad's night out”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well, with two reviews in 18 months, it's time to balance all the dissing from two years back.

Four of us hit this place mid week in August. It was about half-full, almost all of the action was in/near the bar. Tip: ask for a seat away from the bar if you want a more audible experience.

Our orders were a mix of seafood and steak. All my friends thoroughly enjoyed their lobster and fish. I had steak which was quite good. It took a while for them to arrive; there was nothing "pre made" about them. Salads were also fresh and crisp.

The problem I have with restaurant reviews it that many reviewers don't articulate their expectations. I was expecting an average, not gourmet meal. What we got was was well above average. For the price and for the quality, it was fair. Very up to date decor.

Rather than pontificated, it is necessary if people like "peach20" would suggest other places that are better, if they want to be taken seriously. I get nothing out of hand-waving.

The wines and beer were all very good. Service was prompt and attentive.

As FOB suggested, I'd like to see larger portions of side dishes or other accompaniments.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scutra also viewed

 

Been to Scutra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing