We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston Area, United States
1 review
“Good, could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Thought I reserved at least a queen room, seems it was a double. Coffee pot only a 4 cup one. Bathroom very small for two people to put their toiletries down. All staff very friendly and accommodating. Some missing items in the kitchen like 4 place settings, but only three knives and forks. No big deal this time, but could have been if one depended on it. And, the web site is very unclear as to what to expect from the kitchenette experience. I don't want to have to call just to find out what is available in the kitchenette. Also, this time there was no door between the sitting area and the bedroom. That was also not clear to me. I use Hilton on business so I would like to know these things. Basically a great place to stay if you visit the Cambridge area and want to do some cooking on your own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for helping us to improve with the areas you pointed out, we appreciate that very much and will review with the staff for follow-up. We will better explain the kitchenette experience on our site, that's a great idea! We do have two types of accommodations the King 1 Bedroom Suites have a door in between the two rooms and are larger than the the Queen Studio Suites. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    166
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
234
94
26
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is very nice. Each room as a kitchen and the cupboards and fixtures are much higher quality than an Extended Stay. Room was very large. Workout room was nice 3 treadmills and 2 ellipticals plus free weights. Very large area for breakfast and they do serve dinner which is included but I never ate there so cannot comment on the dinner fare. This was a very pleasant surprise and I would definately stay there again. It is in a good location if you are doing business in Cambridge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbron79857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - glad to hear you appreciated the exercise room and the amenities. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days in two rooms. Staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. Rooms are like a little apartment which I assume is the case with Homewood suites. With all the food that must go through the kitchen and elsewhere in this "little apartment", I was pleasantly surprised with how very clean they were. The free underground parking was nice. There is a bike path next to the hotel that provides a great walk or run (or bike). Definitely seems like a college area. I must have passed 50 moms with strollers and babies while out for my walks around the neighborhood.
Lots of pizza/italian food places in the several blocks around and the CVS drug store across the parking lot was nice. There is a great new deli down the street with sandwhiches that can be a dinner.

Negatives - no really close grocery store to stock kitchen, though the staff will run out and shop for you. Something I wasn't completely comfortable with. View out my window was a parking lot.

While I was there the fire alarms on the second floor malfunctioned and would not stop for hours. The staff was very helpful in this extremely stressful situation and briefly transferred me to the local Hyatt. A shout out to the Hyatt where the staff was kind and quite helpful. Homewood made sure I was taken care of, both in my stay and in my costs.

I will stay there again the next time I am in Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CoolHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review of this hotel and for being our guest while under some trying circumstances and still highlighting the positives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

You really can’t beat Homewood Suites when traveling with family or on business. There were 7 of us ranging in age from 20 to 81 yrs. We arrived early but were able to get our rooms right away. We had booked 2 studios but thankfully both rooms were upgraded to 1 bedroom suites. The living area was a bit cramped for 4 people but it sure beat a normal hotel room. My husband and I took the sofa bed and as is often the case with sofa beds, we could feel the springs but were still able to get a good night sleep. We had one car so it was great having free parking with easy in and out access. Part of our party utilized the public transportation without any problems. The bus to Harvard Square and the subway is literally right across the street. The Alewife train station to the airport and downtown is less than a mile away and was within walking distance for the younger members of our party. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of both hot and cold foods and the dinner was satisfactory. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are trying to keep your visit to Boston reasonably priced or want to stay in the Cambridge area, this is an excellent choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dablakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Wow, thanks for pointing out so many great things about the hotel and also that we had something for everyone in the family that visited with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at this Homewood's Suites a couple of times...suits all our needs! Right on Mass Ave easy access to all of Beantown! Clean and comfotable. Lots of friendly travlers and good staff to care for you wishes. Don't forget it has on site parking. It's a big plus if you are road tripping..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We appreciate your letting us know how you enjoyed your stay and that you mentioned the parking being great for road trippers! Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Excellent service. Great food, breakfast and dinner were good with multiple choices.. Closer to public transportation. Free parking is wonderful. People at the front desk were very helpful in giving directions on how to get to subway station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyasamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we especially appreciate your mentioning our proximity to public transportation and hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed overnite in a Queen suite, modern up to date, with separate bedroom and kitchen/living room areas. Hotel is quiet and comfortable, generous hot and cold breakfeast items, free garage parking, and front desk staff is very personable and helpful. 4 miles from Harvard Sq, and/or 20 minutes from the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, if you don't get lost driving; faces a cvs and main street with cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: high floor, facing parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for pointing out to your fellow travelers the key reasons to stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
1.0 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Address: 1 Massachusetts Ave, Rte 16 Mass Ave Intersect-20' From Cambridge, MA, Arlington, MA 02474-8602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Homewood Suites By Hilton to Cambridge & Boston/20' from Cambridge,MA line -ALL SUITES- featuring 100 spacious king or queen-bedded 1 bedroom or studio suites with added foldout double sofabed,all with kitchenettes and full-sized refrigerators. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet every day, Complimentary Light Dinner Mon-Thu nights 5PM-7PM, free wifi and business ctr. Free covered parking in underground garage.Guest Laundry Room. Located on MBTA/Metro bus line, 1/2 mile to Subway/Tube Station.Menotomy Grill and Tavern next door.2 Miles to Harvard Sq./Univ., 1 Mile to Tufts Univ., 4 Miles to Kendall Square,5 miles to Boston.5 Miles to Fenway Park. CVS Pharmacy on site. No pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton / Cambridge - Arlington Hotel Arlington
Homewood Suites Arlington
Hawthorn Suites Arlington
Arlington Homewood Suites
Arlington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing