We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but Small Bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Value but Small Bathroom”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in October 2012 and enjoyed it. The location was good for us as we were visiting people daughter in Arlington and wanted to see Cambridge.
Our room consisted of a living room with comfortable couch and TV plus kitchen and a bedroom with a queen size bed which was comfortable. The A/C heat system works fine. There is closet and dresser and TV's in both rooms.

The problem is that the bathroom is small with a small area around sink to put toiletries. Maybe room for one guest but not for a couple.

With free breakfast buffet which was very good and free covered parking and free Wifi this is a value

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton/Cambridge-Arlington for your stay, we are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations in most areas and appreciate your business and your honest feedback. I will highlight the concern about storage capabilities and bathroom-size to my management team.Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    177
    55
    27
    11
See reviews for
254
99
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was very nice hotel, smile staffs, good breakfast, clean room and towels,sheets.. If I have chance to go Boston again, for sure, I will be back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank s. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business and the nice comments about your stay, please come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here at the Homewood Suites Cambridge-Arlington during my 1st visit to Boston in July. As always the suites were roomy (I stayed in one of their king studio suites) and the hotel property was in tip top shape. I enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and enjoyed eating my breakfast on the patio which was nice as I was able to watch the city come alive.

The GM is very nice and I enjoyed talking to her at various times during my stay. She was able to give me a little history of the area and directed me to a house down the street that was built in the early 1700's that I wouldn't have known about.

The staff was great especially the breakfast staff and were very friendly.

If you are going to visit Boston and in particular Tufts, M.I.T or Harvard, this is a great location to stay at and I highly recommend this property.

Kudos to the staff and management at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbanksiii64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and the traveling public about your stay! We appreciate your business and the opportunity to be of service, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very close to Tufts campus. Good staff and amenities. Close to the T stop (walking about 15 min) into downtown Boston. The suite style room is perfect for a family visiting. Free parking is good if you need a car to haul stuff to campus

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenicaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and letting your fellow travelers know about the proximity to Tufts University for those on college tours or just needing to be near the campus. Hope to have you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very convenient to public transportation (10 minute walk to T which takes you anywhere in Boston).

We've stayed here several times and always find the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. Property is clean and well run. Rooms are large and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet, request a room away from Mass Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate your business and the opportunity to be of service, as well as your kind review of your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July 2012 for three nights on a long weekend break to Boston before heading to Florida. This hotel was very good value for money. It was clean and the same as other homewood suites, but they do not serve alcohol unlike others we have stayed in.

The location was great. We got a taxi from the airport for $30, not bad for 4 of us and lots of luggage. We then used the T public transport the next day for exploring the city, which was cheap and easy to use. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which drops you off and to get a bus into town just cross the road and walk a short way. The bus goes to Harvard square (which was great as our daughter wanted to look at Harvard) and we walked from there to M.I.T too. You can also get on the subway at Harvard square very easily on the same T ticket as the bus and this takes you all over Boston.

It was also very handy to have CVS right next door!

I would say this is a great value hotel if you don't want to pay the downtown hotel prices, but yet easy to get into town and to Harvard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it sure pointed out all the key reasons this is a great spot for families on college tours to stay and we appreciate your choosing us and letting your fellow travelers know how well the stay went. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 1 night and were given a room facing Mass Ave because nothing else was available. Of course we had street noise, but worse than that was the noises from the room next door - every time they turned on the shower it felt like we were right next to a fire hose.

Too bad - the last time we stayed here we had a much better experience!

On the positive side the staff was very friendly & breakfast is terrific.

Room Tip: make sure not to stay on the Mass Ave side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. My apologies that it wasn't as good as your previous stay and hope you will give as another opportunity when your travels bring you back this way. Meanwhile, we will take your comments and use them to improve on those areas you found lacking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
1.0 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
62 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Address: 1 Massachusetts Ave, Rte 16 Mass Ave Intersect-20' From Cambridge, MA, Arlington, MA 02474-8602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMPLETELY RENOVATED AS OF JUNE 2017! -ALL SUITES- NOW featuring 121 spacious SUITES! BRAND NEW -JUST ADDED- 21 QUEEN/QUEEN STUDIO SUITES,Closest Homewood Suites By Hilton to Cambridge, Tufts, Harvard Univ. & Harvard Sq./20' from Cambridge,MA line Also, all new king 1 bedroom suites, or our standard accommodation 1 queen studio suites with added foldout double sofabed, all with kitchenettes including full-sized refrigerators. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet every day, Complimentary Light Dinner Mon-Thu nights 5PM-7PM, free WiFi and business ctr. FREE COVERED PARKING in underground garage.Guest Laundry Room. Located on MBTA/Metro bus line, 1/2 mile to Subway/Tube Station.Menotomy Grill and Tavern next door.COLLEGE TOUR HEADQUARTERS!2 Miles to Harvard Sq./Univ., 1 Mile to Tufts Univ.,4 Miles to MIT, Kendall Square, 5 miles to Boston Univ./Northeastern,5 miles to BOSTON.5 Miles to MLB'S FENWAY PARK -Go Sox!. CVS Pharmacy on site. No pool at hotel. Swim at Walden Pond (seasonal)only 5 miles away. Lexington is next town over, MINUTEMAN Bikeway path/ bike rentals nearby. Take a ride back in history thru Historic Lexington, Concord & Arlington-formerly "Menotomy" a revolutionary village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton / Cambridge - Arlington Hotel Arlington
Homewood Suites Arlington
Hawthorn Suites Arlington
Arlington Homewood Suites
Arlington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing