We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NICE AFFORDABLE SURPRISE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A NICE AFFORDABLE SURPRISE”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Finding nice affordable logding around Cambridge can be a real challenge, so this hotel was a great surprise. It's right on the T bus line, with busses running down Mass Ave every 10 minutes right into Harvard Square for $1.50. Parking is free, another bonus. The hotel is clean, quiet, and well-managed, with a great breakfast included with the room. Just across the street is a pathway leading to miles and miles of greenway running / biking path. It's a perfect place to stay, and a place I have every intention of returning to in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocelynhopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Many thanks for the review of our Homewood Suites, we note that you pointed out many of the reasons that travelers find us to be one of the best values in the area and the reason we have many return guests, it's wonderful to hear that your stay went so well and we hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    166
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
234
94
26
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I reserved a room for my father who came to visit. For some reason he was charged twice and received two confirmation e-mails before his stay. He gave the hotel a call and they assured him that it was a mistake, that he would not be charged twice and that they are not keeping two sets of rooms for him. However, when the bill came, he was charged twice and the hotel refused to refund the money even after telling him that this exact thing would not happen. I tried calling the manager and left 5 messages but the manager has refused to take my calls, reply to me or contact me in any way. This is absolutely unbelievable!

This hotel may be ok to stay in, but if you have any problems, don't expect anyone to help you out or even talk to you. Terrible experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Idan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and my apologies for those items you found not up to your expectations. I will look into this and contact you personally to make this right. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

my family and i stayed at this hotel for 5 nights so i could attend red sox games, hotel was beautiful and well maintained, our 1 bedroom suite was very spacious and very, very clean. breakfast was very good, great selection. dinners at night were delicious and the staff were outstanding(very courteous, pleasant and helpful), the T was a 2 minute drive or 15 minute walk. if your going to fenway , i suggest you drive to T . they have a huge parking lot. fee is minimal. red line(alwife) to green line (park st) then to kenmore square. hotel located 15 min. walk to davis sq. where all kinds of shops , restaurants, movie theater and street entertainment by aspiring performers. a little out of the way for baseball games but well worth it to stay here. the price was excellent for boston and for what you get is well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your stay with us at the Homewood Suites - we appreciate your pointing out for future travelers all of the additional details / amenities that may help make their stays more memorable and valuable. And of course, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New YOrk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Average mediocre overpriced hotel. Takes advantage of families touring colleges in the area as all hotels in the vicinity do. Not a friendly greeting at desk and our room was not ready at 2:30 pm. We were given another room which was smaller but we just wanted to relax after a long day. Room was clean enough but layout was bizarre. Huge kitchen with small single pullout chair in living area...with a tv crammed next to the kitchen on a dresser that you could not use because it was so close to air conditioning unit...could not open the drawers. It was fine for one night but that it is it. Noisy air conditioning and the hallways had zero air conditioning. Bathroom off of lobby was filthy and the other was locked. REally no service to speak of. Call me crazy but I expect a bit more for about $300 a night in a hotel not in the middle of Harvard Square but a good 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
First, please accept my sincere apologies, on your unhappy experience which was not how we generally do business. The accommodation you describe is usually reserved for a one to two person stay, it may have been the first room to come available since you were trying to check-in prior to 3PM which is when we generally have rooms available, and the desk provided the first accommodation that was clean and available at that time. June is one of the Cambridge area's busiest months and rates in the area do reflect that as well as what is included, in this hotel's case full hot buffet breakfast, complimentary parking, complimentary dinner and wifi are part of the value included. As to cleanliness, the hotel generally receives high marks from QA (98% +) in this area and I apologize if that was not the case with the public restroom during your stay. We do sometimes have preferred rates available for certain nearby colleges but during a high occupancy month like June there are times where the rate is subject to restriction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul,Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have no idea how the hotel management did nothing to eliminate the terrible odor in the room 118. As soon as we've got into the room, we felt the ethnic odor from the room. The hotel has provided the hammer baking soda spray to expel that smell. We believed it would have gone soon. Unfortunatelly enough it never did and it was to late to pack all the stuffs and to move to another room. After two nights of stay all our clothes stll smell bad as that room. I firmly believe the hotel management has to find the way to eliminate that odor before releasing that room to the customers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Please accept our apologies - we pride ourselves on the high marks received on room cleanliness from our guests and Quality Assurance Inspections and are very sorry to hear about the odor in the room where you stayed that did not your rightfully high expectations. That is definitely not the way we do business. I hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your accolades and please know we appreciate your feedback so that we can continue to strive to offer the best in accommodations and service. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here for a week while doing some consulting work for Harvard. The bus stopped right across the street and had me at Harvard Square in about 20 minutes. The room was clean and well-equipped with a full kitchen. Breakfast each day was a welcome surprise, as was the dinner provided each night. The front desk manager was incredibly helpful when I needed to print and fax some documents to the university. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and all the amenities you found convenient and helpful for your stay! We appreciate your business and the opportunity to be of service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

No glasses in the bathroom, coffee cups left outside our door from previous visitors when we arrived, no regular coffee packages in kitchen, televisions not set up for closed captioning.

If I'm nitpicking, so be it. I just expected the above not to be a problem at a Hilton Hotel. Not terribly bothersome, but room should have been better prepared for our arrival.

On the positive side, bed was great, and the breakfast provided is very good--includes scrambled eggs, which I don't know if I've ever seen at a "free" breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRisemanDOS, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay here at the Homewood Suites by Hilton/ Cambridge-Arlington. Please accept our apologies for those items you found not up to your rightfully-high expectations. Also, thank you for the compliments on our beds and breakfast items. I have addressed those areas you mentioned with the housekeeping staff, please know that we generally are in the top 98th percentile for housekeeping and your experience is not how we normally do business. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate this. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
69 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
1.2 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
776 reviews
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Address: 1 Massachusetts Ave, Rte 16 Mass Ave Intersect-20' From Cambridge, MA, Arlington, MA 02474-8602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Homewood Suites By Hilton to Cambridge & Boston/20' from Cambridge,MA line -ALL SUITES- featuring 100 spacious king or queen-bedded 1 bedroom or studio suites with added foldout double sofabed,all with kitchenettes and full-sized refrigerators. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet every day, Complimentary Light Dinner Mon-Thu nights 5PM-7PM, free wifi and business ctr. Free covered parking in underground garage.Guest Laundry Room. Located on MBTA/Metro bus line, 1/2 mile to Subway/Tube Station.Menotomy Grill and Tavern next door.2 Miles to Harvard Sq./Univ., 1 Mile to Tufts Univ., 4 Miles to Kendall Square,5 miles to Boston.5 Miles to Fenway Park. CVS Pharmacy on site. No pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton / Cambridge - Arlington Hotel Arlington
Homewood Suites Arlington
Hawthorn Suites Arlington
Arlington Homewood Suites
Arlington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing