We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best located accommodation on Norfolk Island”
Review of Heritage Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Hill
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Norfolk Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best located accommodation on Norfolk Island”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had last week at Heritage Hill and could not praise it highly enough. Fantastic views, the room was spotless - we even had a spa in our room. Great people - always eager to assist. Wouldn't hesitate to go back there, loved Norfolk and loved Heritage Hill.
Paul & Anne, Brisbane.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHill, Manager at Heritage Hill, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Anne & Paul,
Thanks so much for your kind words. We had a great week hosting you both up here on the hill.
Next time you visit Norfolk, be sure to look us up.
Keep safe.
Kind regards,
Ren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
53
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just had a fantastic week on Norfolk Island. Stayed at this wonderful Hotel (previously called Hillcrest). From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome, hibiscus flowers on the pillows and benches an extra touch. The hotel is set in the most magnificent grounds, stunning gardens and the best views on the island. Heritage Hill offers all types of accommodation from hotel rooms to apartments and cottages. We met a couple from Australia who wanted to move in forever to the apartment.

We didn't see a fitness centre, but the pool and barbque area is very good, lots of safety tips around and well fenced. Walk around the town and you will maintain fitness, go on a walk in the parks.

Mariahs, at the hotel, is the best restaurant on the island, the chef is to be commended. Zoe the hostess is charming, with a great smile and memory for orders. Just don't eat too fast, savour every bite. The food is not expensive and desserts are a must. The creme brulle is great.

The town of Burnt Pines is a very easy, comfortable 10 minute walk away and you get a sore arm waving to all your new friends as they drive past. The shops are wonderful, great duty free shopping for jewellery, cameras and clothes. Shoes are cheap and great modern selection in a great choice of shops.

Kingston Beach with the convict built buildings and ruins are a walk away down the hill or a short drive.

Room Tip: Just phone or email Heritage Hill and they will help you choose a room for your needs. There are whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100Helen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHill, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hill, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi There,
Thank you for your great feedback. The Heritage Hill team feels proud to have made your stay all that much better on our beautiful Island. We take pride in all our services we offer, but unfortunately we don't have a fitness centre at this time. But we do agree, walking on Norfolk in the beautiful crisp air is just as good!

Thank-you again for choosing to stay at Heritage Hill, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Chris, Reception Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

just spent a week on Norf'k and stayed at the Hillcrest.
We had the room above the reception...a bit bigger and (like most rooms) a great view.
Tim, the manager, was the most helpful i have ever experienced (good work tim!).
The chef is very good...try the restaurant...but then there are plenty of places to eat on Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerveyBay
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived at this Hotel around midnight. There had been an arilines dispute in Brisbane and our plane left 4 hours late. Many folk were not in a good mood and were still complaining when they arrived on Norfolk. The Owner of Hillcrest met us in dressing gown and slippers - nobody had told her about the delay. There were only 4 of us for her hotel yet she could not do enough for us that night. The next day we found where we were staying. Beautiful views all around separate cabins, and the word, "Come for breakfast when you are ready". This was the message for our total stay. The guests came and went as they pleased and nothing was too much trouble. It is a little way out of the main shopping centre but definitely walking distance.
We enjoyed ourselves on the Island but it was great to sneak back into our cabin every night.

.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent although we felt that our ground floor was better than going up stairs all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HabTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I arrived home from Norfolk Island yesterday. We stayed is a self contained cottage at Hillcrest Lodge. If you are in a quandry about where to stay at Norfolk, look no further and book a cottage at Hillcrest. The cottage was spacious with a King size bed and an incredible view. It was within walking distance to the shops at Burnt Pine and it was convenient to be able to order meals and drinks at the on site restaurant with very helful, friendly staff. The manager, Tim, could not be more pleasant, he was very helpful and obliging. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we return to Norfolk we would very happily stay at Hillcrest again.

Room Tip: The cottages were very private and all had amazing views across the pretty, green hills and the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank AvonDownsEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel room overlooked beautiful views of the ocean and even inside, the things were nice and definitely worth mentioning, specially the cleanliness and comfortable bed. Luxury is not something that welcomes you at Hillcrest, but you will love the way their staff maintain hospitality and do the interaction with their guests. About the views, the most said would be the least, wonderful location. We would surely think of going back. We could not have got any better of Hillcrest on that price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joanroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestGardens, Manager at Heritage Hill, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank for your comments - what Hillcrest lacks in luxury we try to make up by doing the extra in our customer service. We try to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay & go away with lots of "warm & fuzzy" feelings about Norfolk Island & particularly Hillcrest. Your feedback is important.

Thank you

Ann & Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in a motel room at the Hillcrest for a week at the end of July. It is in a great position, a 10 min stroll, if that, into town. Lovely and quiet. It has wonderful views and the staff there are great. Nothing was too mnuch bother. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. While we loved it and will be back, there is one thing that needs to be highlighted, there is no heating available in the motel rooms. We had a few cold nights and could have done with some form of heating. Normally this wouldn't be a problem on Norfolk Island as the climate is quite temperate but for about 6 weeks in the middle of winter you can get some cold nights. This maybe something you may need to consider if you want to stay in the motel rooms late June/July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DoubleLJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillcrestGardens, Manager at Heritage Hill, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Double LJ's

Thank you for your great comments. We appreciate all feedback & the problem with heating is one that arises from time to time. There is no form of heating in the motel rooms - normally not a problem - but we have had a colder winter than normal this year. Electric heating & cooking on Norfolk Island is "a prohibited article in the Norfolk Island legislation" - meaning it is against the law to run electric heaters & cookers. Electric blankets are available from Reception upon request.

Also these motel rooms are smallest units at Hillcrest & providing individual gas heating would create a safety issue.

We, as managers of Hillcrest, have been living here on Norfolk Island for 4 & 1/2 years and are originally from NZ but we have found this winter a lot cooler than usual. There still is the brillant sunny days but a marked drop in temperature in the evening. Apart from the heating isuue we are really pleased you enjoyed your time on our lovely lush sub tropical island that is just a mere dot in the Pacific Ocean.

With thanks
Ann & Alex - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Callam Court Apartments
Callam Court Apartments
#8 of 12 in Burnt Pine
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Cumberland Resort & Spa
#1 of 12 in Burnt Pine
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hill

Property: Heritage Hill
Address: 159 Taylors Road | Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Norfolk Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven acres of spectacular and unequalled ocean views situated close to low-duty shopping yet only 700ms from the Georgian convict settlement and the exquisite beaches of World Heritage-listed Kingston.Heritage Hill is locally owned and operated and offers traditional hospitality in a warm characteristic style. Accommodation ranges from serviced rooms to the more intimate stand-alone cottages or self-contained family units. Most tariffs include complimentary airport transfers, introductory tour and daily continental breakfast. Tour and rental car booking service available.Mariah’s Restaurant on the hill caters for varied individual tastes or planned functions in a pleasant garden setting and with a relaxed informal style.BBQ and swimming pool facilities are available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heritage Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hillcrest Hotel Norfolk Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing