We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coast Norfolk Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

just stayed here after partner shot in claytarget shooting. Excellent accommodation, clean,tidy,great views, had a pool right outside felt like our own. But do need a car as its about 5min drive out of town. Will stay there again. Thanks Norfolk Island

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucendia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Ponderosa Apartments house - Routi House 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, car rental included, insurance extra. A wonderful facility with friendly horse/cows/chooks etc in the backyard. Cannot praise this place enough, very relaxing just what we needed

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annierocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have just had a lovely 8 day break with 4 friends. Staying at Ponderosa was great, very clean and convenient for us. Loved the gazebo, spent many a lunch time out there and BBQ for tea. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thought Norfolk Island was great, lovely and relaxing. The guys went fishing and had a great time, the fish was delicious. The sharks down at the jetty were pretty awesome too!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ausiebrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our family of 11 have just returned from a week at Ponderosa. The four apartments we used are well maintained and clean with everything you'd need in the kitchen. Use of the gazebo for family BBQ and meals also playing of cards etc in the evening is a bonus. The provision of a mobile phone for each apartment is an asset, The gardens are colourful and well kept, also the pool was clean and enjoyed by the children. Was a 5 minute trip into town so was quiet with a few moos from the cows of a morning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have just spent a week at Ponderosa and had a very relaxing time. The apartment was well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Our room had a lovely outlook across the hills to the sea and the grounds were very tidy and nicely set out. There was a gazebo equipped with a TV, DVD player and books and magazines which could be used if you had to vacate your room early and included all the facilities to have a BBQ. Our only concern would be that the swimming pool could be a little on the smaill side if the property was full. However that didn't happen while we were there and we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendyIreneNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The description "Paradise" is often bandied around like confetti by publicists and 'spin doctors' to promote any number of things however "Paradise", in my mind, is an apt description of an Island roughly mid-way between Australia and New Zealand in Oceania.

Here is a landscape that has welcomed the Polynesian communities, has been a prison to the First and Second Convict settlements organised by the colonial authorities from the Australian continent and was, subsequently, designated a new home for Families from Pitcairn Island, descendants of the mutineers from HMAV Bounty.

And where does the Single Traveller, Couple or Family stay while being afforded this privilege of sharing in this expression of Paradise? 'Peace and Solitude...with all the Creature Comforts' await the visitor to the sprawling, immaculately maintained PONDEROSA at Longridge; a complex of cleverly-crafted cottages and one and two bedroom apartments...all with views of impossibly green valleys or, looking seawards, Nepean and Philip Islands.

Having been greeted at the Airport following our evening flight from Australia and transported to PONDEROSA; the first thing to take your breath away is the SILENCE - silence, occasionally broken by the sound of distant waves. Look upwards and, with apologies to Puccini's Tosca, THE STARS ARE REALLY SHINING!!!

Rahooloo Cottage (where the Family stayed) is like the Gingerbread House of old...upstairs, which became the children's domain (complete with toilet and washbasin) and downstairs, another bedroom, full bathroom, lounge/dining room and a great outdoor covered entertainment space, ideal for a leisurely Brunch or days of inclement weather. A well-equipped kitchen and laundry rounded off the 'creature comforts', which meant fewer forays into Foodland at Burnt Pine (some 10 minutes away by hire car).

For Yours Truly in a one bedroom apartment, I was Contentment personified...again a great use of space, a comfy Queen-size bed, a well-equipped kitchen and those little, unexpected touches such as access to baskets to carry the makings of a picnic to one of the Island's many beauty spots, a Community BBQ, games and puzzles for idle minds, an inviting swimming pool, spacious lawns with room to fly a kite, the best-equipped guest laundry I have ever experienced and Management who, when they smile (and that is ALL the time), really mean it!

Best of all, World Heritage-listed Kingston and Arthur's Vale with its Georgian buildings, unique 9 hole Golf course, Cemetery and Emily and Slaughter Bays are just a 'cooee' away, via Country Road.

PONDEROSA on Norfolk Island is the ideal destination for a Single Traveller, Couple or Family wishing Peace and Solitude...but with all the Creature Comforts.

Room Tip: A hire car is a must, with many options on Norfolk Island. Rahooloo is every honeymooning Couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
1.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
209 reviews
1.3 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Anson Bay Lodge
Anson Bay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Kingston
48 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 46 in Norfolk Island
236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Endeavour Lodge
Endeavour Lodge
#1 of 9 in Kingston
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Norfolk Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Norfolk Island

Address: Longridge Road, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia (Formerly Ponderosa Norfolk Island)
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Norfolk Island
Price Range: $108 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Norfolk Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponderosa lies within the World Heritage KAVHA site set on 30 acres of peaceful gardens, on a quiet road at Longridge, an easy drive down the hill for a swim at the beach and five minutes into town. The Ponderosa property has spectacular views overlooking the green hills and blue Pacific Ocean to Philip Island. Ponderosa offers a selection of well appointed cottages , apartments and houses with a saltwater swimming pool, barbecue area and our new onsite Day Spa ensuring your holiday is bliss. Ponderosa offers guest facilities that allow you to discover and explore Norfolk Island with snorkeling equipment, pushbikes, fishing rods , golf clubs and picnic baskets. Here life is relaxed, enjoy a heavenly massage, play golf – or simply relax on your verandah or by the pool. Enjoy our ONSITE DAY SPA . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Coast Norfolk Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing