We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of Tau Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tau Gardens
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have just come back from an enjoyable holiday at Tau Gardens. We had originally booked into Anson Bay Lodge but were very lucky to be upgraded to here. (Not that there is anything wrong with Anson Bay Lodge- have stayed there 2x very happily).
You are met at the airport by smiling pleasant people, taken to your accomodation and the included rental car is a real bonus.
The cottages at Tau Gardens are spacious, clean and have everything you could wish for. They are also very private and not too close together and the plantings of shrubs, hibiscus, palms and trees are very attractive.
The well stocked bookcase was a bonus with the books on Norfolk Island history great for reading. You can sit outside in the evenings and enjoy your wine in peace and quiet.
Wayne and co are very good to deal with and we can't thank Wayne enough for the trouble he went to when our stay was unexpectedly extended for two days due to flight disruptions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

It's hard to start at a place like this. Honestly, it really is. Norfolk Island has a charm, and it could not be emphasised in more than the Tau Gardens. When you touch down, it is hard to know where to begin. In a strange land and all that. As soon as we walk out of the airport (tired after being diverted by a storm to Brisbane and back again. NorfolkAir were very accommodating)

Wayne was waiting for us, and spotted up immediately. He showed us to the cars - both cars were clean, full tank of fuel and ready to go the 50 km an hour. Wayne manages the Tau Gardens. He greeted us at the airport, then took us on a quick tour of Norfolk Island so that we would get our bearings. If you can find that at the Hyatt then I will give you a chocolate bar.

With a quick warning about the cows we were chasing each other through the hilly countryside towards the Tau Gardens. Space. You have space. Lot's of it. Tau Garden's has a lot of area, but very few buildings. Down the hill was an orchid supporting some of the most succulent peaches you could imagine. On your doorstep are pawpaw.

Cabins are fully accommodated and very clean. There is little need for want here. Even though they are situated across from the airport, the airport only flies twice a day and it is fun to watch the plane take off from your verandah. The cabin we had was brand new. You can't get better. A nice treat was the bookshelf. We were supplied with book written about the Island. Not just a few, but many. Enough to get you well started at least. There were also other books, where I pictured other ventures had read a novel and decided to leave it for fellow travelers to find. Don't bring your Collen McCullough novels, you will find them here. Their are plenty.

Not once were we interrupted. Not once did we have to lock the doors. Not once did we have to worry. That's what Norfolk Island is for. There are self contained units, or more a house. Quiet. You will be left alone.

We were given a mobile phone to use with the house. Some credit on it, never used. Good if you need Emergency Services on the island. Car was organised, and we payed insurance ($15 per day).

You can sit on the hill with a bottle of wine, watching the stars, and a plane take off. A great place to sit at night and listen to the sounds of the lsland. The only awful part what leaving to the airport.

Room Tip: Bring over heaps of "processed food" to stock up the pantry. Buy the veg and meat on the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed in 'Ikes' Cottage at Tau Gardens in late August 2011. This is such a lovely, quiet place to relax. The manager Wayne couldn't have been more helpful. He collected us from the airport in our car which was part of the package and gave us a quick island tour before delivering us to Tau Garden paradise. The cottage is surrounded by beautifully maintained gardens with a truly rural feel and heaps of space to roam. Ikes has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with a huge lounge and dining as well as a full sized, fully equipped kitchen. It is only a few minutes drive to Burnt Pine the main shopping centre and Kingston the World Heritage area is just down the road. Dino's and Norfolk Blue the wonderful restaurants are a stone's throw away. Had a wonderful stay...will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colleen361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Had a gut feeling about this place before we even arrived that it was going to meet all our needs and that it would be great. Our host, Wayne Bedford(lovely guy) was laid back but at the same time catered to our every need, and we really felt looked after. We were supplied with a mobile and our hire car was a toyota van which was perfect for driving the kids around the island. Tau Gardens had everything-full kitchen, laundry, bath, extra towels, bbq, extensive gardens that you would need for a holiday for people of any age. The cottages are huge! Felt like we were in a house. There was room on the lawns for our kids to kick a ball, play hide and seek amongst the beautiful kentia palms. My husband and I enjoyed sitting under the BBQ area with a glass of wine and cheese platter. We hardly saw any of the other people staying there as the cottages are spread out for privacy. It is only about 5 minutes drive out of the Burnt Pine town area, so you have the convenience of shops and restaurants as well as peace and quiet of the gorgeous countryside. We would recommend Tau Gardens for couples, families with children , anyone who appreciates relaxing in a home away from home. We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacqui_and_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank 陳安安
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Anson Bay Lodge
Anson Bay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Kingston
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 47 in Norfolk Island
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Polynesian Apartments
The Polynesian Apartments
#32 of 47 in Norfolk Island
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Retreat Norfolk Island
Hideaway Retreat Norfolk Island
#26 of 47 in Norfolk Island
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Panorama Seaside Apartments
2 mi away
Callam Court Apartments
Callam Court Apartments
#8 of 12 in Burnt Pine
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tau Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Gardens

Address: Captain Quintal Drive, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Norfolk Island
Price Range: $69 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tau Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Tau Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing