We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Location”
Review of Hans Egede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hans Egede Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was a very nice hotel right in the heart of Nuuk which seemed like a proper town compared to Narsarsuaq where we had stayed the previous night. The front desk staff were extremely helpful but my room faced the street and it was very noisy outside. The room was stuffy and I needed to open the window to get some air. We did have dinner in the gourmet restaurant where we had a lovely waiter and the food was first-class. This is probably the best bet for Nuuk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Hans Egede Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The rooms were adequate but stuffy. If you open up the window to get some air, then the noise from the street is quite loud and all night long.

The restaurant is excellent, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: Check for a room that doesn't face the main road.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel Hans Egede at least looks like a proper hotel. Singles are very small but clean and providing all you need for a short stay. Their priced Gourmet Restaurant so was unfortunately closed for the summer (I thught thats when the tourist are in), but their other restaurant, a kind of steakhouse, served great food and had very freindly staff! Highly recommanded! And yes, the city is nice and colourfull, if the sun is out, and it was!

Room Tip: ask for a double, so you might nhave space for your luggage!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everybody hates Nuuk, Greenland's shambolic and depressing capital. I actually quite liked it. Much of this comes own to the Hotel Hans Egede (HHE). Okay, the place looks like something out of Soviet Russia, but I found the rooms to be comfortable, warm, clean, nicely furnished and everything worked. Decent breakfast included, pleasant staff, and a great (new) fitness centre. The hotel is not that cheap, but could be a lot more expensive considering there appears to be virtually no competition. In the centre of town, so walking distance to most of Nuuk's culinary and touristic delights, such as they are. There is also a bus stop right outside, so you can get anywhere else you need to go. Easy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights on business. The room and bathroom were quite large with a desk to work at. Expensive internet. Clean and comfortable. Good free buffet breakfast. Good service. My window looked out at a blank wall, I think it was 210.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruceandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hans Egede Hotel is centrally located (like most things are in Nuuk) and with a nice view. Personnel and services at the reception are as you would expect from an international 4-star hotel. The room was clean and with a small but fine bathroom. The room had no refrigerator – if you should need that in Greenland. The breakfast buffet was fine but nothing special and I missed just a small local input to the dishes. For dinner the hotel has two restaurants of which the Restaurant Sarfalik on the 5th floor is recommended.Internet is not included in the price and is expensive.
The price is probably what you can except for at hotel with little competition

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lippert_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice hotel. I had a twin bed room, which was ok in size. The bathroom was also of a good size. The breakfast was served on fifth floor in, what in the evening is an excellent steak restaurant, and was also quite good.
Overall nothing really special, but very good, given there's no competition.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlynggaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuuk
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuuk Seamen's Home
0.0 mi away
Vandrehuset Hostel 2
0.7 mi away
Nordbo
Nordbo
#1 of 1 in Nuuk
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vandrehuset Hostel
Vandrehuset Hostel
#1 of 4 in Nuuk
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polar Lodge
Polar Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kangerlussuaq
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Narsaq
Hotel Narsaq
#3 of 5 in Narsaq
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Egede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Egede Hotel

Address: PO Box 289, Nuuk 3900, Greenland
Location: Greenland > Sermersooq Municipality > Nuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nuuk
Hotel Class:4 star — Hans Egede Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hans Egede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing