We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Zoran was a brilliant tour guide

What a surprise Skopje was for us! We absolutely loved Zoran's witty and informative tour. He gave... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
lorna e
,
London, Kentucky
Amazing overview of Skopje

Zoran was amazing! Very knowledgeable about his home city. He kept us entertained for the whole 3... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
chennac2016
,
Pordenone, Italy
via mobile
Read all 394 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Skopje
from $28.05
More Info
from $56.11
More Info
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
365
21
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
365
21
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour three hours extensive knowledge fantastic walking highly recommend the tour afternoon tour interesting facts free tour informative tour an amazing guide macedonian food stray dogs small group private tour old city macedonian history the main square
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the tour with Vasko who was super friendly and absolutely knowledgeable! He showed us around the whole city center had had many interesting and funny stories about it to tell.
Absolutely recommending the tour.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank lalalelelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of people who joined Vasko's walking tour at 10am on the 12th of September. Vasko was friendly and warm from the get-go and he made an effort to make everyone feel welcome in the group on an individual basis. He took us around the highlights of Skopje, including some places which we never realised existed (like an elevator shop!). He also explained the political situation and how the locals were feeling about it. I felt that I finally understood the cultural aspect of this city thanks to Vasko.

The walk took a bit longer than what he had initially told us, mostly because not everyone's pace was the same, but at no point did he try to rush us or did he give us less information because of the time. The tour ended in the old town where he gave recommendations of what to eat and what to drink, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic.

thank you for the great tour! Would truly recommend Vasko and the Free Skopje Walking Tours

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank melmce94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Vasko led such a wonderful walking tour. So great to hear about a city from someone who lives here and who is clearly passionate about his nation. Really comprehensive tour, you see all the main sites plus you get to try a traditional pastry! Highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Bodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My parents and I joined this tour while on a month long trip around the balkans. We visited many countries and joined many tours, and this was by far the worst. Here are some tips to improve:
- Get a microphone, the tour guides voice was too soft and most people couldn't hear it.
- learn the difference between socialism and communism! The tour guide kept referring to the communist period Macedonia had as socialism and when I corrected him he said he didn't know what the difference was! Please go to Tirana and join their free walking tour. Their guides are historians who spoke for at least 10 minutes purely about the comunist period in Albania, it was absolutely incredible. Go watch and learn!
- please talk more about the history of Macedonia/Skopje rather than just say, this building is the central Bank, etc. You concentrated mostly on the earthquake that destroyed a lot of the buildings, and while that's important, there's more to history than just that earthquake. You didn't even talk about Alexander the Great!
- I understand that you have some issues with Greece, please cover this in more detail objectively. While that can be difficult please try to keep emotions and opinions aside. The tour guide got super emotional and spoke about the name change very emotional which reduced his credibility greatly.
- the tour guide spoke shortly about the language issue with Bulgaria, again purely emotionally and zero facts. How about explaining the similarities and differences from a linguistic perspective, also how Bulgarians and Macedonians view it, etc.
- you didn't say anything related to the history of former Yugoslavia, the Times of Tito, etc.
In all, all I learnt from this tour is that there was a huge earthquake, that most buildings in Skopje are new even though they have an old style, and that there's a lot of angry emotions towards the Greeks palpable through the tour guides rhetoric.
Until they rewrite their tour, I can't recommend this to anyone.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoran S, Owner at Free Skopje Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Olga D
.
Thank you for taking time to write a comment about our tour and I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy it.
We will seriously consider all of your remarks in order to make our tours better and more interesting for all of our guests.

Regards Zoran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The free walking toure was amazing. Our guide, Zoran, was great. We really enjoyed and also we learned a lot about Skopje.
Highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Lucija O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews