We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go in for the building, not the art”
Review of Daut Pasha Hamam

Daut Pasha Hamam
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.98*
and up
Private Half Day Walking Tour of Old and New Skopje
More Info
$142.37*
and up
Private Full Day Tour Best of Skopje
More Info
$42.71*
and up
Skopje Full-Day Tour Including Millennium Cross and Matka Canyon
Roseville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Go in for the building, not the art”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is centrally located (except that from the Old Bazaar sitting above this the shortest way to get to the entrance involves a scary/dirty spiral staircase) and as others have said, very cheap (50 denars)--if they make you pay at all. When I stopped in on an April afternoon they just waved me in. The building is the star here: the rooms are graceful and the ceilings and arches fascinating. My eyes were always drawn upward. But the art was a disappointment. Some of it appears badly kept. I am a veteran of art museums, though no art historian, and I didn't recognize any of the artists. There are no interpretive signs either, trying to tell the history of Macedonian art. What I did see suggested that the fashions of art in the region carried on for 10 to 40 years after its emergence in Western Europe (e.g., one painting of about 1930 painting in the style of 1890s Pisarro).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pdwschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“You could easily miss it”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

You could almost walk by here and miss it. Doesn't look much from the outside but worth a quick look inside. Admission was free on the day we visited but would probably not have bothered if we had to pay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

50 MKD to enter. I offered the woman 100 MKD to get in, and she actually didn't have the change to pay me back what was owed. No problem, it just rather shows how rarely the place is visited. She even had to turn on the gallery lights for me, and I trundled round alone. The art is okay, dating back to 1920s up to more modern stuff. But it's more the space and internal architecture that is worth seeing. Certainly worth 50 (or even 100) MKD, and 10-15 minutes of my time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pooyousir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restorated old Ottoman hamam”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Today,this hamam is used as an art gallery like the other many Ottoman monuments in Balkans.Exhibition is very small.Restoration made the hamam loose it's soul.You can see original structure of it only on some parts on the walls and ceilings.Enterance is about 50 dinars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Old and new”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Features of the old architecture - walls, ceilings and columns- were included in the clean, new wall space. Very interesting. Modern art in an Ottoman building - wonderful idea. Acoustically terrific with a baby grand piano and seating for about 120 in you are looking to perform locally. Stop and fill your water bottle at the ancient water spout just outside on your way out. Thoughtful modern art.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daut Pasha Hamam also viewed

 

Been to Daut Pasha Hamam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing