We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
Review of Kapistec

Kapistec
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapistec
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We found Hotel Kapistec staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Accidentally left our passports behind and proprietor contacted us to let us know, and then drove to another city to deliver them to us. Excellent service, nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineD733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in Hotel Kapistec several times during my visits to Skopje. The hotel is peaceful and clean. If you enjoy nature, Vodno Mountain is right on your doorstep. I often put on my jogging shoes, exit the hotel, and it takes me just 5 minutes to reach wonderful mountain trails.Yet despite the Hotel's proximity to nature, the city center isn't far away, perhaps a 15 minute walk. In short, you couldn't ask for a better location.In addition to the hotel's great location, the owner, Darko, is friendly and interesting, and will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickw352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice 3* small friendly hotel,helpfull staf,i come again,very cheap for this kind of hotel,for balkan is maximum what you need if jou go in hotel 3*.Next time i go sure again in this hotel.Center of town is 20 minute walking.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zupem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very easy place to find (near Austrian Embassy) at a very quiet yet quite central area of Shkup ( about 20 minutes walk to the city centre).
The owner (Darko or Borko) was very polite and helpful and had very good knowledge of places to visit in and around Shkup. He also prepared a very nice take away breakfast for us (as we left the hotel very early).
The room was nicely done, clean and spacious, restaurant (breakfast room) nice as well.
Very good Wi-Fi

The only complain we have for the hotel is that there was no hot water.

Would go back and recommend to other fellow travellers

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalabrezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nice small Guest House 20 mins from the city centre. A quiet location with lots of good restaurants nearby. Comfortable en suite room, well equiped. A good breakfast with decent coffee. Friendly hosts. Excellent value for money. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Friendly staff, excelent wi-fi signal, plentiful and varied breakfast, peace location in small street near the center, with lots of bars and shops nearby, clean room.... No doubt my next choice when I came to Skopje. Darko and his brother was more then ordinary friendly hosts. Very good value for money, great bed, nice little balcony

Room Tip: There are no swimming pool and fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pligutic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good value for money with large rooms, reasonable fittings and free wi-fi. The owners speak good English and they are friendly and helpful. The receptionist greetings us was less welcoming and her reluctance to leave her computer game was irritating but things improved from there.
The hotel is being renovated so I assume some rooms are better than others. The ensuite was large and shower powerful but it leaked over the bathroom floor. Air conditioning worked fine and there was a kettle and fridge, but no tea or coffee provided in the rooms.Beds were comfortable. The collection of pieces in all the public rooms and the dated decoration gives the hotel character. There is no lift and the stairs are quite narrow.
Breakfast was served until 10am at least and service was attentive. There was choice of cereals, bread, spreads, preserves, meat and cheese but some veggies and fruit would have been welcomed.
Hotel Kapistec is difficult to find as there is so little road signage of roads in the area but directions from google proved to be accurate. There was road construction underway in the area so access may well improve. It took about 30 minutes to drive to the airport. There is parking in the square next to the hotel and a small shop across the square. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to central Skopje and a taxi costs less than £3.
Excellent value for money. My one moan is that not every room has a balcony as advertised on the website through which our booking was made so I missed out on sipping my beer looking down on the square!

Room Tip: Paying for an upgraded comfort room does not guarantee a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
#17 of 71 in Skopje
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aristocrat & Fish Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Glam
Hotel Glam
#31 of 71 in Skopje
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Super 8
Hotel Super 8
#11 of 71 in Skopje
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapistec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapistec

Address: Mile Pop Jordanov # 3, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range: $23 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapistec 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapistec hotel is located in the ecologically cleanest and quietest part of Skopje, under the slopes of Vodno Mountain, 1km from the center of the city. Luxurious and very comfortable rooms equipped with air-conditioning, TV, phone, toilet, balcony. Close to very luxurious shops and restaurants, and Vodno hills. Room service, fax and internet. Transport possible from the territory of the city of Skopje and the Airport. Information available in English, French, German and Italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kapistec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing