We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good size rooms, quality hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good size rooms, quality hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here with our 10 month old daughter in August 2012. We generally liked the place. The rooms were very big and modern with a large bathroom including bathtub. The area is interesting, in the old town, but a bit far away from the actual city centre of Skopje. Parking is slightly problematic - often full and little space to manoeuvre. Also, while we were there the pool was being renovated without announcement and that also meant that breakfast was moved to the roof.

The staff were generally friendly. Overall we were satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
11
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Conveniently located amid the old city center of Skopje. 10 minutes walking distance to city center at the south bank across the Vardar river via the stone bridge. Own parking somehow oddly accessible but when you find your way, no problem. Friendly staff. Rooms clean, good wifi signal all over. Sleep quality good. Breakfast with sufficient choice. For overall conditions of Macedonia recommendable place. Of course not fully comparable with West European standards for this class of hotel, but this is not West Europe.Would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here in May, 2012. It's a 4 star hotel. The single room I stayed in was better than I expected from a 4 star hotel. The toiletries in the bathroom were tastefully designed. The bed was comfortable & the room was larger than a regular single room by European standard. Staff was hospitable. I asked for hot water & milk for tea, they were delivered to my room free of charge. The dining room is set around a swimming pool One can get a good view of the city there. One down side is the location. It is situated in the old town & the neighbourhood is not too impressing. However, it is close to the Stone Bridge, which connects the old town with the new town. In 10 mins time, one can get to the cafes, restaurants etc. in the new town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhino805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel has five stars: either they hand them out like lollipops in Macedonia, or this place is better than any other hotel in the country. Either way, it's very, very average. The food is truly awful. The breakfast buffet in particular was quite the worst I've ever experienced. It's also in a grotty location: OK, the old bazaar is virtually on your doorstep, but that is just a combination of tourist tat and shops selling spectacularly tasteless frocks. The air-conditioning in the room simply could not cope with the heat. There are no toilets on the lobby-level: you need to go the 3rd or 7th floor, by which time you might as well go to your own room. The only plus is the staff, who are hugely helpful. If you visit Skopje, best try another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megahose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
348 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

First of all, I was on a business trip, this was my first night, and I somehow lost the hotel bill. When back and doing my accounts, I noticed it and mailed the hotel, asking for a copy. I received one in the mail within the hour, although it was the morning of a holiday. This kind of client orientation after the stay is not the norm anywhere, and it surely is reason enough for me to recommend the hotel. I would also stay here again when back in Skopje.

Pros:
- great location close to the Ottoman old town (bazaar with nice cafés)
- nice view
- large room (Club level)
- comfortable bed (unfortunately king size means two twins)
- cheap minibar prices
- friendly receptionist at check-in with excellent language skills

Cons:
- 1970s style, tiny bathroom
- unfriendly receptionist at check-out with no language skills (at least not for my range)
- no late checkout permitted although the hotel was very empty
- difficult to reach and steep stairs to get to the reception
- breakfast around the indoor pool means one cannot use the pool for a morning swim

As has been noted, this is an if post-Yugoslav place with quite some comfort very close to the Old Town, and that is the key advantage of the place. Altogether, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, and best to face the Old Town and citadel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the ancient muslim part of Skopje.The first impression is very bad to the small and crowded street leading to the hotel but the hotel itself is quite nice.
Breakfast is terrible: few frozen pastries cooked in the microwave, cofee products only from a machine and some extra products.
Rooms are quite large and with the original choice of all glass walls for the bathroom.
Sleep was quite bad to the proximity and volume of the muezzin call at 4:30 am: the first night the recording went on for half an hour!
In the end this is not really a 5 star hotel,but resembles an average 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed one night after a conference in Ohrid. The room was ok but the service need still to be trained. We were three people, the only customers in the bar. After getting our first drink we were completely ignored by the waiters who had a great time smoking on the terrace for a very long while.

And about the taxi: be aware that the official price from Arka to the new airport Alexander the Great is 800 dinars / 15 euros. The receptionist booked a taxi for me that charged me 25 euros even though I discussed the price. After a while the taxi driver confessed that he had to give the extra 10 euros to the hotel receptionist.

Macedonian friends, branding a destination is connected to everything you do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alvar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.6 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
BH Hotel Hamburg
BH Hotel Hamburg
#24 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gold
Hotel Gold
#19 of 69 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Property: Hotel Arka
Address: Bitpazarska 90/2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Skopje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arka 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arka is a modern and contemporary hotel located in the historic nucleus of Skopje's Old Bazaar, within walking distance from the city center and all major tourist attractions. Located behind the main boulevard, Hotel Arka is on the borderline with the culturally protected area of the Old City, within the walking proximity to most tourist attractions and the city center. Business travelers prefer us because of the easy access to city center and the chance to experience the different aspects of the city in a short period of time. Tourists stay with us because we are just footsteps away from the main tourist points in the city: the Old Bazaar, Fortress Kale, Stone Bridge, Main Square, Museum of Macedonia etc. And we give you our word that our stylish rooftop bar offers the best views of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arka Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing