We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Skopje, stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Skopje
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Level Contributor
334 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“When in Skopje, stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

First of all, I was on a business trip, this was my first night, and I somehow lost the hotel bill. When back and doing my accounts, I noticed it and mailed the hotel, asking for a copy. I received one in the mail within the hour, although it was the morning of a holiday. This kind of client orientation after the stay is not the norm anywhere, and it surely is reason enough for me to recommend the hotel. I would also stay here again when back in Skopje.

Pros:
- great location close to the Ottoman old town (bazaar with nice cafés)
- nice view
- large room (Club level)
- comfortable bed (unfortunately king size means two twins)
- cheap minibar prices
- friendly receptionist at check-in with excellent language skills

Cons:
- 1970s style, tiny bathroom
- unfriendly receptionist at check-out with no language skills (at least not for my range)
- no late checkout permitted although the hotel was very empty
- difficult to reach and steep stairs to get to the reception
- breakfast around the indoor pool means one cannot use the pool for a morning swim

As has been noted, this is an if post-Yugoslav place with quite some comfort very close to the Old Town, and that is the key advantage of the place. Altogether, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, and best to face the Old Town and citadel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
11
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the ancient muslim part of Skopje.The first impression is very bad to the small and crowded street leading to the hotel but the hotel itself is quite nice.
Breakfast is terrible: few frozen pastries cooked in the microwave, cofee products only from a machine and some extra products.
Rooms are quite large and with the original choice of all glass walls for the bathroom.
Sleep was quite bad to the proximity and volume of the muezzin call at 4:30 am: the first night the recording went on for half an hour!
In the end this is not really a 5 star hotel,but resembles an average 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed one night after a conference in Ohrid. The room was ok but the service need still to be trained. We were three people, the only customers in the bar. After getting our first drink we were completely ignored by the waiters who had a great time smoking on the terrace for a very long while.

And about the taxi: be aware that the official price from Arka to the new airport Alexander the Great is 800 dinars / 15 euros. The receptionist booked a taxi for me that charged me 25 euros even though I discussed the price. After a while the taxi driver confessed that he had to give the extra 10 euros to the hotel receptionist.

Macedonian friends, branding a destination is connected to everything you do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alvar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down East, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've stayed at both the Arka and Alexsandar Palace. Both are very nice, with the Arka being perhaps 1/2 to 1 star more overall. The Arka is right in the middle of the old section of Skopje, just a short walk to the stone bridge, fortress, etc. Mosques abound, so be ready for 5 prayers per day, broadcast loudly.

Contrary to others, I had no concerns walking at night in this area. There is very little lighting, and most shops are closed but I'd say this area is no less safe than any other area of Skopje.

The fitness facility of the Arka is small in comparison to Alexsandar Palace, so if that is important to you, this may cause you to stay elsewhere. Arka has just a recumbent bike, treadmill and small universal gym. Also, the Arka restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch (some days) so you will have to go out for meals - but not to worry. There are many excellent restaurants nearby, including the legendary "Old House." When the Arka does serve meals, they are beyond excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Junior" suite - well worth the small additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoraxDownEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Hotel Arka is really well organised, clean and offer valuable services. The staff is ready to solve all your problems and the location is good being very near to downtown and to the covered market. Fantastic breakfasts having a 360 degree look to the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betto45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here during a city break to Skopje. Hotel is in a great location, right next to the old town, and a short walk to the Stone Bridge, Macedonia Square, etc. Okay, so its 5-star rating isn't comparable with the scale we're used to in western Europe, but nevertheless, this is a clean, well-appointed hotel. Rooms have all the usual amenities (although note that the lights are controlled by a remote control - when entering your room at night, locate it BEFORE you close the room door behind you!!). There's a buffet breakfast inlcuded in the rate - nothing special, but a good selection (and a great view from the top floor pool bar where it's served). Didn't sample any of the other facilities, but if I found myself in Skopje again, would I stay here? Yes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

Ok, a lot of reviews underline the hotel's location, supposed to be in a weird or unpleasant area of town. So I was on my guard upon our arrival at the hotel. I would say that the hotel is certainly located in the most typical part of town, surrounded by mosques and old low buildings. One of the reviewers mentionned he didn't enjoy being stared at whenever he would get to or leave the hotel. I believe this "staring" by the locals is just a mark of interest, I never felt it to be aggressive in any way. Other areas of Skopje are, in my opinion, less interesting and perhaps more dangerous than the Old Town around Bitpazarska.
The hotel is very modern, and very easy to spot from just about anywhere in the city.(makes it easy to find your way back) It is very close to remains of the city walls and numerous points of interest including Mosques, small shops, local markets, museums, restaurants and food joints. As stated in other reviews please hold on to your wallet and valuables upon crossing the Stonebridge, where young pickpockets operate, sometimes quite aggressively. Fortunately, one of the hotel's plusses is that it offers in-room individual safes (at least my room - 606 -had one).
My room was fairly big, with all the usual amenities expected in an upper class hotel, including toothbrush and toothpaste, a fairly rare find even in luxury hotels. Employees were talkative and courteous and most of them spoke very good English. Breakfast is very good, with Ajvar (local specialty) and other specialties available, as well as standard ""western" food.
From what I have seen, there are several parking spaces in front of the hotel.
The negative points include a pool that is only "decorative" as one of the employee told us, and this is somewhat deceptive, considering what's shown on the hotel's website. Also in my room, the bedcover was not spotless, with a few stains. But overall, the room was clean.
Too bad the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.
A final word for Ohrid. If you have a day, go there. It's 170 km away from Skopje, and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.1 mi away
BH Hotel Hamburg
BH Hotel Hamburg
#20 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gold
Hotel Gold
#22 of 69 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bushi Resort & Spa
Bushi Resort & Spa
#8 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Skopje
Holiday Inn - Skopje
#10 of 69 in Skopje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Property: Hotel Arka
Address: Bitpazarska 90/2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Skopje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Arka 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arka is a modern and contemporary hotel located in the historic nucleus of Skopje's Old Bazaar, within walking distance from the city center and all major tourist attractions. Located behind the main boulevard, Hotel Arka is on the borderline with the culturally protected area of the Old City, within the walking proximity to most tourist attractions and the city center. Business travelers prefer us because of the easy access to city center and the chance to experience the different aspects of the city in a short period of time. Tourists stay with us because we are just footsteps away from the main tourist points in the city: the Old Bazaar, Fortress Kale, Stone Bridge, Main Square, Museum of Macedonia etc. And we give you our word that our stylish rooftop bar offers the best views of Skopje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arka Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing