We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a trek, nice courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rose Diplomatique
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My taxi had some difficulty finding the hotel, but there seemed to be a lot of road work going on which has probably been completed (I was there in Sept 2011). The young man on the front desk when I checked in wasn't very helpful, his replacement was much better. I thought the walk to the center of town was longer than I would like, but was told that the buses were too slow.

When I booked I was told only a suite was available, although the hotel didn't seem very full. It was much bigger than I needed, and the decor was a bit too fussy for my taste. However, I slept well and everything worked.

I liked sitting out in the courtyard. The front desk arranged a taxi to take me to Lake Matka and I took the bus back. I loved the lake, although I didn't visit the monasteries - just walked round the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thursdaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Rose Diplomatique is a quiet oasis in the chaos that is Skopje. Near the centre of the city, great staff, unpretentious, clean - has more the feel of home versus a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debwontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Staff were friendly and efficient. Nothing too much trouble. Language (English) was not a problem. Clean room, clean bed, clean bathroom. Couldn't fault the establishment.

Room Tip: No lift. Stairs easy to climb. If you have difficulty in climbing then ask for a room on 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maurice-1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

If getting a taxi it's worth knowing the address is Roza Luxembourg street (not Luxembourg street which we thought for some reason).

The rooms are nice, fresh flowers, mini bar and very clean.

The host Daniel kept trying to sell us an "Executive Half-Day tour" of the area, even though it was already 4pm. When I suggested going up Mount Vodna myself, he said it was closed on Thursdays. I said it was Wednesday today, he said that he'd meant Wednesday, and the Executive tour bus was air-conditioned.

Great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dh2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We struggled to find this hotel with the one way system but when we did get there we were made very welcome and provided with secure parking for our motorbikes. The room was clean but a bit cluttered for our liking and it was quiet and comfortable. it was very convenient for the centre which was also very good for us

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BikerGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Enjoyed our experience at the Rose Diplomatique, location good, quiet and comfortable.
Young staff very pleasant.
The only negative if I have to have one is the room was a little crowded, too much furniture!
Helen

Room Tip: Room with a balcony at back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Rose Diplomatique for three nights during our Ex-Yugoslavia trip to the Balkans.
It was our second time in Skopje so we were eager to see how the city changed and planed to do a lot of sightseeing. We chose this hotel because of its excellent reviews on Tripadviser.com since I’ve come to rely mostly on the judgments of the fellow travelers.
The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area but very close to the center, within a 10 minute walking distance, so we had access to everything we required during our short stay in Skopje.
The room we stayed in was very clean, elegantly furnished, with a lot of personal touches that can be found all around the hotel which made it feel less like a hotel and more like staying at someone’s home. The best thing about this hotel is the back yard which is simply lovely and perfect to relax in after a day spent walking around the city.
Another great thing about this hotel are the people working there. The staff could not do enough to facilitate us and make our stay enjoyable. They answered all our questions, and believe me we ask a lot!!! :)
So in a word all thumbs up for Rose Diplomatique! We would definitely stay there again if we came back to Macedonia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.1 mi away
View Inn Boutique Hotel
View Inn Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Skopje
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#23 of 71 in Skopje
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#8 of 71 in Skopje
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose Diplomatique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Diplomatique

Address: 13 Roza Luksemburg Str., Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range: $31 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rose Diplomatique 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, luxurious and excellently located, Boutique Hotel Rose Diplomatique has taken the lead as one of the most exclusive "boutique-style" places for stay in the capital city, exemplifying the truth that small is beautiful. The atmosphere is that of an elegant period home furnished with richly colored fabrics complemented by antiques, rugs, fine china and paintings. The style and decor have been tailored to suit today's leisure and business traveler. All rooms are fully equipped by combination of old-world charm and contemporary efficiency. They are air-conditioned, with satellite/cable TV, mini bar, direct-dial telephone, bath/shower with hair dryer to offer to guest to feel like home. The ambiance is welcoming with 24-hour room service and laundry and ironing services on hand. Fax, printing, massages and central deposit box are available, as well. Guests can use free of charge parking and WiFi. In its restaurant, a lavish buffet breakfast of home-made food is served every morning and the HB service is complement to the many-years tradition of Rose Diplomatique. The summer garden is exceptional place to enjoy the meals and refreshments. Elegantly decorated meeting room with audio-visual equipment is available for small seminars and private meetings. Boutique Hotel Rose Diplomatique is centrally located, yet in a quite area, a 10min walk from the City Square Macedonia. All the attractions the capital has to offer are within a short stroll. Moreover, all biggest administration, diplomatic and consular representatives, as well as all biggest shopping and business centers are situated close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rose Diplomatique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing