We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay in Skopje”
Review of Hostel Atlantik

Hostel Atlantik
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Atlantik
Ranked #10 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the upstairs apartment which was spacious, nicely renovated and exceptionally clean. There was aircon, a small fridge in a kitchette with small table and a tv. A shop across the road was convenient for goodies. The owners were very welcoming, hospitable and spoke good English. They gave an excellent recommendation for a delicious (and cheap) restaurant around the corner. Whilst the coffee was great, breakfast was modest and the choice could be improved. Overall in 25 years of travel this would have to rate as one of the best budget options we have come across.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goolwa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was in Macedonia for about a week, and stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip. I was horrified when the Holiday Inn said rooms were 155 euro a night so I asked a cab to take me to a cheap Hostel and ended up here, for a much more reasonable 25 euro for a single room. This is a great little place, and the family that run it are very welcoming and helpful, and really go out of their way to assist guests. It is also a great opportunity to meet real Macedonians. It is a little out of the way but once you get your bearings it only takes about 15 minutes to reach the centre of town on foot. The local area is also interesting to explore- perfectly safe, if a bit grungier than the city centre. Going for a bit of a wander locally gave me real insight into Skopje that I would not have received if I opted for one of the larger hotels.

While the Hostel is on a busy road, the rooms are well away from it, and I had no problem sleeping. There is a shared bathroom, but there are usually no more than 3 guests at the place at anyone time, so it is always clean and available. Breakfast is included in the cost. Breakfast is quite small, but this is not really a problem, since restaurants are very cheap in Skopje. One of the best hostels I have visited.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazarus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The family run business was a real treat to stay in.

Our stay was made so much easier with the bottomless wealth of knowledge on the region that Ljupco expressed with excitement over each meal that we shared. The hostel is impeccably tidy thanks to the tireless efforts of his wife Lidija, who showed us nothing but eager friendship.

We were walked to the local and "best" burek shops in the morning, helped to cram last minute presents in with a light-speed tour of the local 'green' market and dropped off at the station when we needed to leave.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and in the two weeks between our first and our second visit they had managed to install air conditioning, which made us feel cooler if not a little honoured...

Ljupco is the main English speaker and Lidija is very insiteful and extremely attentive so make sure to exploit their knowledge of the region. Both have travelled quite a bit in the Balkans and will part with some useful information if you are planning on visiting the surrounding countries.

Of all of the hostels we have ever stayed in, this was by far and away the most homely...despite spending most of our time there sat under the shade in the courtyard.

We both highly recommend this hostel...but just watch out for the Rakia...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at Hostel Atlantik for 7 nights, split over two separate visits in June this year. My review is only late because Atlantik was not at that time on theTripadvisor site. The hostel is well situated for visits to the centre of Skopje and is also convenient for the bus station. Ljupco will happily pick up guests from the bus station which is very helpful. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. There are shared shower bathroom facilities on the ground floor where I stayed. The shared bathroom was kept spotlessly clean throughout my visit. Hot water was constant and plentiful. There is a grocery shop opposite which is useful and also a very good bakery some 8 minutes walk away which Ljupco can show you where typical Macedonian bakery products can be bought. The big advantage of the Atlantik is that it is family run to very high standards, this family care a great deal about providing the very best possible experience for guests. If you are looking for a party hostel with loads of noise and people, this is not the right place. If however you are looking for a kindly peaceful place to stay in Skopje with genuinely nice people then I cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: There is a very nice apartment upstairs which would be great for a couple or family which has its ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

to begin with the only not so good thing about hostel atlantik: skopje municipality change the street names in parts of skopje, but didn't bother to change the signs, so it's not easy to find the small house.make sure to write a note with both old and new names of this street! or just usk Ljupco to pick you up at the bus/train station.
the place itself is very nice. the rooms are comfortable and cleen, the shower is good, nice front yard with a place to sit and drink and a kitchenet with coffee/tea making facilities.it is no more then 10 minutes of easy walking to macedonia squar and the center and 15 to the train station (or again you can Ask for a lift).
but the big advantage of hoatel atlantik is Ljupco and his wife, who are the nicest people we met in macedonia. they Treated us (and all the other guests) like family, not like paying guests. really are interested in meeting people and enthusiastic to talk about everything.
we love our stay there and wholeheartedly recommend!

Room Tip: get one on ground floor.they all good but no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
183
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.1 mi away
Hi Skopje Hostel
Hi Skopje Hostel
#2 of 79 in Skopje
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Urban Hostel
Urban Hostel
#4 of 79 in Skopje
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#32 of 79 in Skopje
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#23 of 71 in Skopje
60 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#10 of 71 in Skopje
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Atlantik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Atlantik

Address: Ul.Ognjan Prica br. 18b, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Price Range: $27 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Atlantik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing