We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for travellers”
Review of Hotel Bimbo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bimbo
Ranked #42 of 73 Skopje B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Easy access to the new beautiful city centre walking distance 10 mins. Food is fantastic, the people who own it treat you like family. Any question you ask they are very happy to help you. Skopje is growing now and this hotel is there for your needs. Rooms are always fresh and clean, bathrooms are nice . I am from England and I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants an adventure in this beautiful city for some where to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bimbo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

First rule of Skopje: don't try to walk to your abode from the bus station. You won't get there. Take a taxi (which I am normally loathe to recommend). Second rule: hotels in Skopje range from over-priced to dire. So, the third rule kicks in: you don't need to stay near the main square, Makedonia. I'd advise staying on the Albanian side, in Gazi Baba, which is friendlier, cheaper, and full of life. If you're set on the Slavic side of the Vardar, though, you can do worse than Hotel Bimbo. The price was quite reasonable for Skopje. The rooms are just slightly post-socialist, but they're clean, and everything works--there are even English language stations on cable. Breakfast is of the "Happy Cow" cheese tranche variety. There's no lift, but the stairs are easy to manage. The biggest challenge is finding the place, because it's nowhere near the google map location displayed on booking.com (for instance). It's about 15 minutes' walk from the main square, at the junction of Jasmin and Gologanov if you're using a map. If you're walking forget the Gologanov, because that section has been re-named Lola Ribar ulica--see what I mean about getting lost? The staff are cheery and the neighbourhood is lovely and quiet. The Ramstor Mall, superior in every way to the mall on the main square, is only about 8 minutes' walk down Jasmin. All in all, against some instincts I'd recommend Hotel Bimbo, They try hard, and mostly succeed, in a city that is a bit of a wasteland for mid-priced hotels.

Room Tip: They advertise that some rooms have a plasma screen and a balcony, so you could ask about that.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to the bingo on the basis of a lonely planet review of being affordable. We found that every hotel was charging per person, and every hotel that was 3 star and above was demanding 50 euros per person. The staff were helpful, the breakfast was basic, the air conditioner did work. The rooms were small but up many flights of stairs, and were pretty basic. We went with this hotel because it was the only place we could find at 90 euro for 3.

On the positive, it was only 15 minutes walk to the old city.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busybeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I spend tow nights in this hotel this September. I can say that except the price (55 for a duble) the hotel was nice. Staff was friendly and kind. The room was clean and had almost everything ( clean towels, tv, air/c, internet) and enough space. The bathroom was ok too.
Ther was breakfast included in the price.
Some noise was coming from the outdors but not at resting times (night, noon). The location is good (not too close not too far from the city center).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griggrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

just don't overpay them. Don't spend more than 20 Euros for a double.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank llskp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

My wife Carole recently flew from the USA to have some dental work done in Skopje. We spent two weeks at the Bimbo Hotel and was treated like family. The owners as well as the staff was extremely helpful and supportive. This was our second time to stay here and was even more pleased than the first time. They have now installed internet to the rooms and will be even more inviting to the internet public. I would rate them higher than number 9 on your scale for Skopje Macedonia Hotels. This Hotel will be hard to beat for a quiet and enjoyable stay in Skopje.

Leon and Carole Thomas
Tennessee..USA

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ALTEtowah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

3 lads on a tour through Europe, Picked this one out of the Lonely Planet Guide, the bizarre name enticed us!
Its a nice hotel for budget travellers, we bagged a twin & a single room - no room with 3 separate beds. Rooms are pretty ok, cable tv, air con (not used), nice shower.
Lady on reception spoke little English, but tried her best to help us.
Location: Pretty good, in a small side street away from the action, about a 20 mins walk into the shopping area, mind you taxis are so cheap here its not a problem!
Quite a distance from the Rail/Bus terminals, 10 to 15 mins in a taxi.
Brekky: typical continental food, basic but nice & fresh.

Quite expensive for what you got however, which was the only let down, but apperently thats typical in Skopje, so it didn't lose a 'point' for that.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank AdrianGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.6 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#31 of 76 in Skopje
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#8 of 73 in Skopje
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel Le Village
Motel Le Village
#46 of 71 in Skopje
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kapistec
Kapistec
#22 of 71 in Skopje
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#19 of 71 in Skopje
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bimbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bimbo

Address: 29 Noemvri, no 63, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range: $33 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bimbo 2*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bimbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing