We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to get to and nice and clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Hostel 2

Shanti Hostel 2
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shanti Hostel 2
Ranked #8 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy to get to and nice and clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Shanti Hostel 2 was in a really good location. So close to the bus stop and not to far away from all you need to see in Skopje. It was a very cute and clean place, with a really nice chill out room and garden. Great place to just drop you bags while you venture out and then rest up for the next day. Staff were very helpful. Rooms were very cozy but very hot . The beds had curtains so you felt like you had some privacy but the room were quiet small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reva44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I arrived in Skopje very late at night and I went to Shanti Hostel 2. The owners and workers at the place were very kind and warm, hospitable and the place is full of any comfort.
Clean, good food, very relaxing as the name suggests.
Reccomended.
Francesco, from Italy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

In very easy reach when arriving at the bus station and signposted all the way which is very helpful. The hostel is located in a lovely area of the city, it still feels traditional, is very quick to walk into the centre (with all the statues!) and a five minute walk to a shopping centre with supermarket. Staff were very good when I was there, helpful information about the town and buses and I was made to feel at home. The room was adequate with clean en-suite bathroom, however there was only three of us in a six bed dorm and I can imagine when full it could be a little crowded. Breakfast was included in the price which is always a bonus! Was very happy at this hostel and would like to go back if returning to Skopje.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I didn't have a bad time here, but I guess it was more typical than a standout.
It's very close to the bus and train station, maybe about ten minutes walk. And it's not too far from the center part of town with it's collection of statues. God knows you wouldn't want to miss that.
It's hit or miss with the staff; one person was known for misinformation and loud music (I wasn't the only one to notice so it's not like I'm just too old or not into punk) and another was great: knowledgeable and helpful.
The dorms can get crowded when full, but no problems.
Locks are provided for the storage cabinets, but they aren't very good (one key fits all of the locks, more or less). Of course, I should have had my own lock.

There was a guy staying here with a motorcycle and they let him keep it inside the gate. You might want to do the same if you also have a Ducati.

Room Tip: Pick the room without anyone snoring in it. Otherwise, one has an attached bathroom and the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the hostel. The first 2 nights were OK, I booked a bed in a dormitory just for myself. Then I wanted to book one private room with my girlfriend but they didn't want because she is Macedonian and they do not allow Macedonian people to have a booking there. The staff told me if I want to stay in this hostel I can stay but without her, because apparently they had problems with Macedonian in the past. I was really upset and changed the hostel: I went to one hostel few streets further and had a nice stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luccou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PP
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The location is near the bus/train station and the center of town. This is a fairly small and quiet hostal. The mattresses, sheets, pillows, etc. were all good. Food in the morning included instant coffee, tea, milk, juice, bread, and cereal. There is a free internet computer for use and the tv room has a big tv with lots of channels.

Nutjob note: A women comes into the reception area during my second evening and says she did something "really bad". I figure I was about to hear some kind of major confession. No, turns out she broke the toilet seat. Does that even qualify as "really bad"?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great hostel in a central location close to the town and the bus / train station. The hostel was clean, beds were comfortable, free wifi and laundry facilities, the breakfast was good and there is a lovely outdoor space to relax in. The staff were really helpful, would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#3 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Skopje City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel City Park
Hotel City Park
#4 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi Skopje Hostel
Hi Skopje Hostel
#2 of 58 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#1 of 58 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Hostel 2

Property: Shanti Hostel 2
Address: Prespanska 18, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Shanti Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing