We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It genuinely feels like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi Skopje Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hi Skopje Hostel
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It genuinely feels like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although a little out of the way (25 minute walk from the bus station) Hi Skopje hostel is well worth a visit. Cheap, friendly and relaxing the hostel really does feel like home, probably because it was a home that has been converted into a hostel. There is a nearby convenience store and the location at the foot of the mountain means hiking is easy. I will be staying here next time I am in Skopje.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
26
49
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Go to this hostel! :) Very good atmosphere, you gotta love the dog (he's not dangerous ;)) and the staff are really friendly. The garden is great and the location is ok! The walk is 10 minutes, so that's oke. I remember this hostel as a great one :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerrrr90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotor, Montenegro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Friendly and helpful hostel. Nice garden and lovely dog. Great place from which to explore the local region, including Kosovo. The hostel was clean but also homey. There is a good social area inside the house to compliment the garden space.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Welsh_J2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Friendly homely great value for money.included breakfast .the staff were very knowledgeable on surrounding attractions.nice comfy lounge where you can relax, go on the internet or watch films.The owner marina is smokin hot too :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Hello


We really enjoy the stay in the Hostel HI Skopje, The people was so friendly and so helpful. We feel like home there. Marina and the other worker was very open and nice. Marina even had time to show us the city from Skopje. Was the best Hostel experience that we had. Thank you for this we will come again to the HI Skopje Hostel when we will be in Skopje.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I think I nearly moved in! :D
I really recommend this place to everyone!
David, Marina and Ole were absolutely prefect hosts! The hostel was super clean, it was nicely cool during the hot days, it's close to town, breakfast was fresh from the bakery every day, the garden was awesome and beautiful, it was nicely quiet as the staff doesn't allow for loud or late parting. And for ever need I could have come up with, the staff would have bended over backwards!
Oh, and then there is Zhile, the hostel dog: he is such a nice, calm sweetheart who is always ready to be tapped on the head once or twice, before he goes outside to lie in his garden again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Hostel is great & the staff are very helpful! We enjoyed our time very much!! The walk to town is a bit long, but worth it! If you take the stairs to the left its a pretty quick walk to the mall there. Taxi from the bus station were about $2.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WR11n11-Nsqd-JAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.7 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 69 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#1 of 69 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#2 of 57 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Unity Hostel
Unity Hostel
#9 of 57 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Hostel
Urban Hostel
#4 of 57 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel 42
Hostel 42
#8 of 57 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Skopje Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Skopje Hostel

Property: Hi Skopje Hostel
Address: Crnice 15, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Skopje Hostel is located in the comfy zone, at the base of Vodno Mountain, outside hustle and crowds, yet 10 min walk from center of Skopje. It’s location on a hill, makes the place secure and perfect for the fresh air, for the sunrise side and the wonderful panoramic view of the city. We are two girls that own and run this hostel, and after lot of traveling, we make a hostel like Skopje deserves.With its own garden of 600m2, Hi Skopje is one of the few places in the city, where you can relax, have nice stay and meet new people and cultures. The warm atmosphere in the garden is enriched with summer cinema and lounge parties.Its own natural beauty, with hundreds of plants, inspired us to describe the 4 elements of the nature, within the hostel. Hi Skopje has clean and comfortable mix dorms and private rooms, and each of them has element that represents the natural beauty of Macedonia. There is a large multi-purposed room, with PC , Wi-Fi internet access and a cozy fireplace, where you can share your traveling experiences.Every morning we serve free breakfast, and a free tea and coffee during your stay at our hostel.We’re expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hi Skopje Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing