We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanti Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanti Hostel
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

For me, the atmosphere of Shanti Hostel was the best part about it. The location is also great - it is in a walking distance from the city centre and the coach station. The staff is welcoming and friendly, and the hostel is clean and tidy. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    43
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
23
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was in Skopje for the first time, and I had a great time. The Shanti Hostel is clean, closed to the train-bus station, but, most of all the owners are really nice and kind. The last day they even organized the taxi service to go to the airport!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Shanti Hostel was a good place to stay in Skopje. The place is clean, tidy and the facilities surely guarantee a comfortable stay for travellers that are not very demanding. The girl working there is friendly and helpful, and you can meet other travellers in the common area, where you have wifi, a computer, tv, etc.

I just think that the location could be better (it is sort of close to the bus and train stations, but not so close to the center, plus it can be a little bit hard to find the first time), and I also think that the place was slightly overpriced (our private room was 30 euros, which for Macedonia and for a sort of basic room might be a bit too much). All in all it was a good place to stay, and I recommend it for laid-back travellers, but in my opinion it doesn't qualify as "great" as other hostels do because of their prices, facilities or socializing-friendliness

Room Tip: The private room was probably a bit expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javialacarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Shanti Hostel in Skopje is a nice and rather interesting place to hang out in. It appears to always be full of people so it was nice to see different cultures and meet new people during my stay. The hostel itself is situated between the city centre and the bus/train station (the bus and train stations are connected to each other). As well, the girls who run the hostel are very welcoming, helpful and talkative. The breakfast is also quite good; it's simple but good. Overall, I would stay here again if I drop by in Skopje.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheibans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location,(10minute in ev'ry points)
Advise for tour (Very useful infos)
Kitchen facilities (ranges,tea coffee oven...)
Room (Safetybox,3concent/bed,bedroom curtain...etc.)

All is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anakiiliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

i returned from a long trip spanning 17 European countries and Shanti hostel was the best hostel I stayed in. Fantastic value for money, the friendliest staff and a great small-med size hostel leads to a great experience. As a solo female traveller I felt completely at ease and always safe. I am a musician and the owners were enthusiastic and were encouraging other fellow musicians in the hostel to join in playing, while they maintained a reasonable yet strict curfew with regards to noise so as not to disturb other guests. There is a lovely outside area and a cosy indoors area. Rooms spotless. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Private room was good value. Close to the train station, spacious, air con, had a beer with owner and other friendly guests - everything you want from a hostel. We would have stayed there on our second trip back to Skopje but they were booked up. Not sure about the other rooms but the private was lovely :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#3 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Super 8
Hotel Super 8
#10 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
Get Inn Skopje Hostel
#3 of 58 in Skopje
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Hostel

Property: Shanti Hostel
Address: str. Rade Jovcevski Korcagin 11 | Madjir Maalo, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Shanti Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing