We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place”
Review of City Hostel Skopje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hostel Skopje
Ranked #29 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Smederevo, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A very nice place”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hostel itself is really close to the city centre, about 10 minutes by foot. It is situated in a very silent and cozy part of Skopje, so you won't be bothered by any kind of inappropriate sounds. Rooms are very clean, beds are superbly comfortable and the staff of the hostel is really friendly and helpful. For the low price you'll get more than you usually get in other hostels in Skopje.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorMarkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
4
18
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we weren't in City Hostel for a long time but it was a great experience! rooms are clean, people are very nice and helpful, prices aren't too high! You have a free internet access, a place in the garden to seat and relax, You can always ask for help, it's really great :) I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 739 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have booked a private room in here...but unfortunately they made some mistake in the reservation and when we arrived there the hostel was full.
We have booked this hostel because in very close to the city center. The hostel looks nice, nice living room, nice terrace nice staff/owners. The toilets from the ground floor were not so nice,and a little dirty in the toilet. Anyway above all...for the price you pay it is very good what you can get.
Considering our problem with the reservation....the owner offered us another hostel (far from the city center, about 3-4 km) and we let at City hostel our things until late in the night, after that the owner offered us a free ride to the other hostel outside of the city.The other hostel was cheaper.
I think this hostel is a very good option if you visit Skopje. It is no more that 10 minutes from the city center. Just be careful to reconfirm your booking before the arrival.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaduCostea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My two sons and me stayed just for a night on our way by car towards Greece.
Very kind staff, calm suburban location, car was parked on the street in front of the hostel, seemed safe enough. The room was clean regarding expectations, the shared bathroom was in barely tolerable condition, as well as the shared kitchen. A friendly advice - would really help if the owners get some ideas of standards and travellers expectations for a modern hostel. We really hope they upgrade, since we liked the location, the staff, and the price :)

Room Tip: At the ground floor we did not dare to leave the door to the backyard open, seemed more like a aband...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The least pleasant place we stayed on our Balkans trip. Filthy living space and bathrooms - really disgusting. Building work was being done during the day, which we weren't told about - if we had wanted to spend any time in the hostel during the day it would have been very disruptive. Extremely thin wall (plywood?) between the 4 bed dorm and the kitchen area so you can hear everything. Mattresses very uncomfortable due to being so old. Location poor, have to walk along main roads to get into town. We left early and were glad to get out.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank D0Ttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really can't complain from anything in the hostel! I feel I paid too little for what I got - comfortable bed, quite the breakfast, quiet room, as the hostel is on a quiet street, and a great host. Not only did he help us with what we needed, but he was offering his help even when we didn't ask for it. The room was clean, the shower was fine, and the rooms were really warm.
The hostel is a 15-minute-walk from the city center, or 1.5 euros by taxi.
The perfect place to stay, especially if you're travelling by car - you can be sure you have somewhere to park it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy, Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I read about this hostel in the travel guide "Skopje in Style". It's really a place to stay when on a budget. Close to the city center and clean! I would deffinitely recommend it to anyone! Also easy to be booked and to made a reservation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#18 of 70 in Skopje
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#1 of 65 in Skopje
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unity Hostel
Unity Hostel
#10 of 65 in Skopje
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Urban Hostel
Urban Hostel
#4 of 65 in Skopje
101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hi Skopje Hostel
Hi Skopje Hostel
#2 of 65 in Skopje
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Old Bazaar
Hotel Old Bazaar
#50 of 71 in Skopje
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Skopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Skopje

Property: City Hostel Skopje
Address: Tome Arsovski no.6, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hostel Skopje 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hostel is a family-owned property located in a great peaceful neighborhood under the mountain Vodno. It is well designed and offers quiet and unforgivable stay in the capital city of Macedonia, Skopje - city of seven gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Hostel Skopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing