We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out ....”
Review of Vila Ani

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Ani
Ranked #52 of 68 Skopje B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Watch out ....”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed in vila Ani in November.
When I 've arrived at Vila Ani, after 18 hours on the road, the place looked nice and quite.
The room given to me looked clean, but worn out.

There were few suprises:
1) There was no hot water and the boiler was not working.
2) The price. I have negotiated 30 EUR, and was charged at 40 EUR. Chnage of rules!
3) There was pubic hair in the shower cubicle left from previous occupant.
4) Bedsheast did not fit the bed
5) Pillow was too high, almost ended up with neck injury
6) No fridge in the room
7) Oudated
8) At 7 am , when the kitchen opens, you can hear the noise

Staff is OK. I have mentioned that there is no hot water, despite the boiler being switched on all night, the owner offered me a different room for hot shower
Breakfast is very very basic. A plate with marmalade, butter, boiled egg and cup of coffee. Doubt that you can ask for second cup of coffee. You sit and wait to be served, there is no help yourself option.

The place is OK only for one night and if you can cope with cold shower and price suprises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The location has a beautiful view of the city. Nice and secure parking. The outside of this place looks nice, the reception was nice, but not very helpful. The internet did not work and no one seemed able to begin to know how to troubleshoot, but had plenty of excuses. The sheets did not fit the bed. Smelled like sewer in parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

A villa that is actually not a villa. It's not near the city centre and the receptionist was not available. I was lucky dreamed the night before of having breakfast because in real don't exist. It is not really recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Remote location on the hill vodno promised a lot!
We were the only guests in an prison like fortress in the "appartment suite" in the basements of the hotel which was heavily fenced.
Kitchen was barely equiped with anything to actually use it, toilet paper was missing, poor breakfast service, poor service in dealing with complains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suma_1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Reached quite late and the staff was helpful. The hotel is on the slope of Vodno, a bit away from the city (better to have a car).
Accomodation is OK, but kind of oldish (with wireless internet)

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krsto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Hotel Villa Ani is not the closest hotel to the center, it is situated almost 15-20 minutes away from the city center (on foot), but don't be intimidated because in Skopje taxis are very cheap, and you can take a taxi from the hotel to the center for 1 Euro. The double room we stayed in was actually a triple room, and we had plenty of space. There was also a writing desk which I found very useful. Tv, air conditioner, internet connection: all available. The room along with the bathroom were very clean. The only problem is that they are not providing shampoos and douche gel, so bring your own stuff. The guy who is at the reception at night was quite friendly and helped us with our questions. There is also a nice lounge to sit down and relax. Considering the fact that in Skopje, it is not easy to find a cheaper hotel, for 20 euros per night (breakfast not included), this was a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusnag9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
1.0 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 69 in Skopje
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#30 of 60 in Skopje
58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Senigallia
Hotel Senigallia
#3 of 69 in Skopje
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alexandar Square Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Orange Inn
Hotel Orange Inn
#3 of 68 in Skopje
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#18 of 69 in Skopje
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Ani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Ani

Property: Vila Ani
Address: Salvadore Aljende 55 (Area Vodno), Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Ani 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Ani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing