We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Good Service Few Issues”
Review of Hotel Ani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ani
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Skopje
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, Good Service Few Issues”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Hotel check in and personnel were fine, plus room very clean, comfortable and quiet(padded doors help).

Breafkast bit average, sliced bread not quite fresh, boiled egg, butter honey/jam, and had to pay for coffee....

No hot water in roombut room cleaned daily (plus clothes folded etc.)...... and wifi signal up and down but very good downstairs.

Overall for price (cheap booked online) ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balkanghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
9
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed here on a group tour so had no say in the accommodation. I was a bit hesitant after reading other reviews but I am happy to say that my experience was all positive. Decent enough location, ten minute walk to centre of town, VERY helpful and friendly staff, clean bathroom and bedding.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I go there to stay for 3 days on New Years Eve. I had to leave after the first night. Unfortunatly I arrived late at night so I could not leave at the same day. The room was dirty, the beds had hair from other visitors, the toilet was not clean, We found nails on a bed, not event toilet paper inside the room. The receptionist holded our passports and demanded to pay for the 3 days. I had to go to the police. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I found the room to be warm and clean. There was however some pee on the toilet seat, but that was cleaned within 1 minute of me informing reception.
The location is perfect.
I was worried after reading the other reviews (read them after a friend booked me in), but actually they must have just been a bunch of moaners!
Internet worked perfectly, though was painfully slow for downloading. Fine for browsing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourense, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Horrible and nasty place. Absolutely unclean and they dind'nt change the bed clothes in two days: The worst thing: one of us got a lice infection!!! My advice: runaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galicianska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We booked Hotel Ani from a recommendation in the Lonely Planet - we only needed one night in Skopje and after a long bus trip from Pristina we couldn't be doing with the hassle of finding private accomodation.

We really wish we hadn't. The place is terribly located down a back alley a long walk from the Plostad Makedonia (main square), despite being described as "central". It has a nasty, dingy and badly lit reception area.

We paid €65 for a triple room, which isn't too bad for Skopje which has a shortage of good budget accomodation, but a total rip off by the standards of the region. But the room itself however was grubby, tiny, with itchy horrible sheets and menacingly psycadelic 70s wallpaper. The bathroom was dirty and small with a shower head that you had to hold between your legs and the boiler was turned off so we couldn't shower on arrival.

Not too much of a problem for just one night, except the bar below our room was having a thumping loud party. Asking to move (the hotel was clearly empty) to a room on the back, the porter simply refused, saying we'd agreed to the room when we were shown it.

Later on that night, after the party had died down, we were kept awake by endless noise from within the hotel - people arguing, going up and down stairs, having sex. Later on during our trip we found out from Macedonians the place doubles as a brothel.

Avoid!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crotsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2010

It is very nice hotel, clean, kindly staf and also location. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and clean. The price is very low for the quality of the hotel and service. I will definitly recomended this hotel and I hope I will come again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ani_am79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Leonardo
Hotel Leonardo
#18 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vlaho
Hotel Vlaho
#15 of 68 in Skopje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 903ta
Hotel 903ta
#43 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel De KOKA
Hotel De KOKA
#9 of 68 in Skopje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Square
Hotel Square
#52 of 68 in Skopje
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ani

Property: Hotel Ani
Address: Str. Borka Talevski 5 (Area Center - Greek Embassy), Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ani 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing