We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible facilities,and dirty linen”
Review of Art-Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art-Hostel
Ranked #25 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Reviewed February 21, 2014

i stayed at art hostel for three nights and overall the the experience was ok except for the broken window in the room and only one toilet and shower in the same room which mean,t having to wait a bit and when it came to my turn there was no hot water so had to wait again also the owner also is gay and to my understanding this the only gay hostel in macedonia,also the location was a bit scary with no lighting at night outside,also got bitten by bugs in my bed spend a night here at your peril

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squatviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Art-Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wonderful hostel! Great location, close to the center, to the shopping mall and most importantly the owners were adoring. I would love to go back and visit them. They are such a great couple that made dinner for us and the breakfast was excellent. I just love the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gp_baxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Art Hostel for one night. It's located about 3 minutes walk from a major shopping mall, 5 minutes from the bus station and 15 minutes from the city centre. The rooms are basic, there's one toilet and shower for all guests and it's tucked away on a side street but I experienced none of the concerns vented by previous occupants. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in Skopje for two days on our roadtrip through Europe. Art-Hostel has a nice atmosphere and you can easily spend an evening there if you bring your own drinks. Luckily that's what we did one night otherwised we would have missed a great concert in the youth center just on the other side of the river.
The staff also has a lot of information and tipps where to go. Also it's very central, cheap and you can park your car just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brtsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

You can spend really good time in this cosy hostel. The staff is very friendly. There are two balconies used as communal areas. The location is perfect, so close to the bus & train stations. You can also walk to the centre easily. The rooms are not that great but will do the job for this price. The breakfast was more than I expected. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volkan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I like the location most. It is 5 mins walking from the main city square. You can walk and do not need to use any transportation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel was not dirty but rooms were a bit dusty. There was only one bahroom and one toilet for the all guests and I do not think it was a good idea. But overall, I recommend this hostel to the backpackers.

Room Tip: Ask them to have one of the upstairs room. The bathroom, toilet and the kitchen is in the first floo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubu o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hostal is very nice, we spend great time here. Is close to Old Town, Macedonia square and bus/train station. Owners are very friendly the same like girl on reception desk and she's very helpful. Tasty breakfast :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopje hotels
0.7 mi away
Solun Hotel & SPA
Solun Hotel & SPA
#7 of 71 in Skopje
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#2 of 76 in Skopje
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skopje Marriott Hotel
Skopje Marriott Hotel
#1 of 71 in Skopje
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
City Hostel Skopje
City Hostel Skopje
#31 of 76 in Skopje
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#7 of 73 in Skopje
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Le Village
Motel Le Village
#45 of 71 in Skopje
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-Hostel

Address: Ante Hadzimitkov 5, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Skopje
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hostel suited for every taste and every pocket. With a friendly, positive atmosphere and unique artistic style, Art-Hostel will guarantee you a pleasant and unforgettable experience during your stay in Skopje. The location is just perfect, in the heart of the city, in a quiet, relaxing neighborhood, just by the river of Vardar, just 5 walk to the City Square, and 5 min. to the Central Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Skopje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing