We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antithesis of Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Andover
Reviewed October 15, 2012

How to know if this hotel is for you:
1. You like to use your bathroom sink as an ice bucket
2. You disregard 'No Smoking' signs and light up where ever you feel like it
3. You are planning a torrid, loud affair
4. You don't care about the people around you
5. You can tolerate cheap sheets
6. You can tolerate cheap comforters
7. You can tolerate cheap mattraces
8. You don't need a robe
9. You don't need amenities
10. You don't care why there are 2 telephones in the room and only 1 works 1/2 the time
11. Rude hotel clerks don't faze you

I was booked into this hotel as an urgent last minute need as it was the only vacancy near Salem MA. Regretfully I am a bit of a hotel snob. I prefer the same amenities I am use to at home. Soft sheets, smoke free environment, warm people greeting me etc... Regretfully, this hotel chain seemed as though it's marked to 20-somethings looking to fornicate and party and I was the last one to get the memo.

I had to roll a towel and block the space under the door because the "no-smoking" smoke was pouring into my room. Despite the snooty front desk clerk assuring me that absolutely no one was smoking. The sheets were so rough that my skin was chaffed in the morning and turned as red as can be. The shower stall had orange rust stains on the tub floor and the carpet in both the visitor areas and my room was in need of a vacuum. Evidence that it hadn't been vacuumed in a long while was the amount of dust and debris lining the hallways and all over my bedroom floor. There was a dollar coin on my bedroom floor upon arrival. I am positive that if housekeeping was actually in there for more than making the bed, they would have claimed it. But, there it sat, upon a skuzoly carpet. I left it as it too was most likely dirty. I dared not chance the carpet and place a bare foot upon it. So, shoes remained on at all times.

Lastly, the complimentary breakfast was the worst thing I've ever been privy to. The "fresh fruit" was canned fruit salad in syrup. The "fresh eggs" were hard boiled and sitting in 1" of greenish water in a plastic serving container. There were make-your-own waffles but after seeing the green water and the hotel's utter lack of cleanliness, I opted to skip them.

Stay away at all costs. If I could rate this negative -10 I would but alas, 1 is the lowest rating possible.

Sincerely,
Frustrated in CT

Room Tip: Book an alternative hotel in the area. Don't be fooled by the "mini fridge" or coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank High_Maint_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel had more than expected for the family. Full size warm swimming pool game room great breakfast and coffee in the lobby at night. Very clean hotel. Front desk was very helpful when we needed more towels. There is also 2 restaurants in the same parking lot. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 789john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank Lsercote
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A La Quinta traveler
Warrenton, North Carolina, USA
11
Reviewed September 26, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, Maine, USA
1
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is the very best La Quinta of all. I have stayed at La Quinta for 23 years. It is delightful, exceptionally clean, and all very efficient. It's modestly run, and there were no towels at the pool at 8 p.m. but it met our needs perfectly. Great place, great location, very nice staff at all levels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA
1
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We've stayed here many times before and I am sure we will be back. We live in the area and use this hotel as a weekend getaway. They could use abit more variety on the breakfast buffet, mainly carbs served (breads, waffles etc) even scrampled eggs would be a nice addition. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating. Same front desk staff for years so I would think LaQuinta is a good place to work. They could definately use new mattresses. I am a left side sleeper, due to the mattress I was rolled to the middle. I still had a good sleep though. The pool and workout room were very clean. The wireless was great,no problems. Two restaraunts in the parking lot is a great for having dinner and a cocktail and not having to drive. (although there are many other restaraunts and fast food in the immediate area) We always have a good time here, we hope you do too!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Luckily my daughter and i only needed to stay there for one night. The room smelled like stinky feet and there was popcorn on the floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Andover
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Boston Andover
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover

Address: 131 River Rd, Andover, MA 01810-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Andover
Price Range: $108 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover Hotel Andover
La Quinta Inn And Suites Andover
La Quinta Hotel Andover
La Quinta Andover
Andover La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing